Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by outwest
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake was fantastic! Took it to a fajita/margarita party and it was a huge hit! I used a golden vanilla cake mix, orange flavored tequila and margarita mix in place of lemon juice. Also made two batches of the glaze. One as directed and poured half on the cake in the pan when it came out of the oven and the other half over the top after the 10 minutes while it was on the cooling rack. Second batch of glaze I used more confectionary sugar, less liquid and lime zest so that it would be thick enough to drizzle over the top and not absorb. Refrigerated the cake for about 2 hours. Can't say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fabulous!...I followed Cookin in D-town's changes and then added one of my own...I used fresh lime zest in the cake batter and glaze as well...gave it that extra zing that it needed....This has become my most requested cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This cake was awesome. I brought it to a Margarita Party with me. I used orange cake mix, vanilla pudding, silver tequilla, grand maraner, and all lime juice (no lemon). I glazed once while hot and twice after the cake cooled. Then dusted it with confectioners sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I was in two minds how to rate this cake was it 3* or 4*. I decided to rate on the positive side. I used A Duncan Hines Orange cake and the only change I made was to use apple sauce in place of the vegetable oil. I just can't see how this can be referred to as a Margarita cake. I did not read the other reviews until after, I think you would have to use a lemon cake and lemon Pudding mix and use lime juice in place of the lemon juice to get more of a Margarita taste. Nothing about this cake as written tastes like Margarita, the cake itself is orange in colour and actually does taste quite good. If anything I think it tastes like the Spanish Saville Oranges but not Margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I loved this cake. I wouldn't change a thing! I've made it for family reunions and it was a hit. Even made it for my mother-in-law and she doesn't drink....(we didn't tell her what was in it though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dysart, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake was wonderful. I did use top shelf liqour and changed the lemon juice to lime for a better margarita flavor. I made it for my husbands work party and all I brought home was an empty container... it was a huge hit! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this cake for a Mexican themed work party and it was gone in an hour. Everyone that had some said they loved it! I used a white cake mix, lime juice instead of lemon, and poured tequila and triple sec over the cake before putting on the glaze (recommendations I found in another review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a hit at my Mexican themed party. I had to substitute lemon for orange cake mix but other than that stuck to the recipe until I got to the glaze... I felt it was too bland and needed some extra lime and lemon juice for that margarita kick. I also used about 1.5 the amount of glaze. I did not get the white glaze look shown in some of the pictures - so opted to dust my cake with powdered sugar and use thin lime quarters along the top to decorate. The finished product was amazingly moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I used white cake mix, fresh squeezed OJ instead of water, and.... because I thought I had vanilla pudding mix but didn't, I used what I had - jello chocolate caramel chip. I made three batches of the glaze using only 2tbs of sugar and poured half of it into the bottom of the unremoved cake right after it came out of the oven, then the rest over the top after turning it over. It all soaked in quickly. Then another batch according to the directions over the top once it was cooler and that all soaked in too. Too late, out of time, no pretty glaze on top. Took it to a dinner party fearing the worst and everyone said it was AMAZING. Most didn't guess any alcohol at all, those that did didn't guess tequila. The chocolate combined the other flavors so that no one thing stood out, even the lime. So it didn't taste like a margarita but it was very tasty, smooth but complex if you tasted more closely, and very moist. I am almost afraid to make it with the vanilla pudding as written for fear I won't like it as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States