Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Everyone LOVED the cake. I too could not find orange cake mix so used lemon with lime juice instead of the lemon. I forgot too that others said to use less liquid for the icing it was way too runny need to adjust this the next time. Still looking for the orange cake mix so that I can make it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This cake is excellent! I made it last year for Cinco de Mayo and it was a big hit. I was requested to make it again this year for a going away party. The only deviation I made from this cake was to bake it as a sheet cake. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very yummy and easy to make. Most of the glaze leaked onto the plate, however. I got much better results when I made a thicker glaze and poured it onto the cake after it had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome. Unable to find th orange cake mix. So I used Lemon. Used lime juice insteda of lemon juice. Substituted OJ for 1/2 the tequilla and 1/2 the triple sec because I didn't want it to be too strong. But I don't think it was necessary. Glaze was thin but I think that adds to the cake...it seeps into it and is then a awsome moist delight! Easy too. My guests LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this cake for my bartender friend for his birthday, it was fantastic and everyone loved the flavor. I doesn't taste too much like alcohol. I used lemon cake mix instead of orange, and poured the batter in a 9x13 aluminum pan. I wanted frosting instead of a glaze so I blended together 4 cups confectioner's sugar, 1 cup shortening, 2 tbs milk and the tequila, triple sec and lime juice from the glaze recipe. I continue to make this cake for my booze loving friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've made this recipe several times for parties that I have attended. No leftovers either time. I always use lemon cake mix since I'm not a huge fan of anything orange flavored. Also, I use Cointreau instead of triple sec as that is how I like my margaritas... :) Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very good. I added orange extract and used lemon cake and lemon pudding. Used contreux and skipped tequila. Really good. Next time I might grease and flour, or cool longer than 10 min and part of my cake stuck in my greased nonstick bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outwest
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake was fantastic! Took it to a fajita/margarita party and it was a huge hit! I used a golden vanilla cake mix, orange flavored tequila and margarita mix in place of lemon juice. Also made two batches of the glaze. One as directed and poured half on the cake in the pan when it came out of the oven and the other half over the top after the 10 minutes while it was on the cooling rack. Second batch of glaze I used more confectionary sugar, less liquid and lime zest so that it would be thick enough to drizzle over the top and not absorb. Refrigerated the cake for about 2 hours. Can't say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fabulous!...I followed Cookin in D-town's changes and then added one of my own...I used fresh lime zest in the cake batter and glaze as well...gave it that extra zing that it needed....This has become my most requested cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States