Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I followed suggestions and used bottled margarita mix (w tequila in it) I also doubled the amout of glaze and poured it over warm cake (still in pan)with holes poked in it so glaze could be absorbed. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! Couldn't find orange cake mix so I used lemon and was it delicious! Instead of tequila, I used margarita mix with alcohol in addition to the triple sec. Made it for dessert after margarita ribs! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I've followed the advice of others and use OJ instead of water and lemon pudding instead of vanilla. Everyone always likes it. It tastes more like an orange Dreamcicle to me than a margarita, but the tequila is a nice balance to the sweetness of the cake. This recipe also makes 24 cupcakes - just reduce the baking time to about 20 minutes and check with a toothpick until it comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Does not taste like margarita at all. Maybe a cirtrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
A Keeper! Love this cake. Couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used lemon cake mix, and used lime juice where the recipe called for lemon juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very good and flavorful. I did not have triple sec and used schnapps instead and it worked just as well. The glaze was a bit thin and soaked right into the cake but it was still super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shepperd2
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I just made this cake tonight - w/ the alteration of an orange cake from SCRATCH w/ just the added tequila, triple sec & lime juice. I also added lime zest to it & Oh My Gosh -- this cake was phenomenal! it was so moist & fluffy - i couldn't wait to show it off and brag on myself so i ran a warm slice across town to my mother after my husband & i got into it. AMAZING cake & the glaze was incredible, too. i thought it would be too tart, but on the cake it compliments it so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shepperd2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alva, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
great cake, i doubled the glaze, its delicious. I grated a lil lime shavings on top. no matter if you use orange, white, or lemon cake its a great cake...I think if you use lemon it tastes more like a very good lemon cake though, so i stick to white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Excellent!!! I have made this several times and am always pleased how everyone LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Made this for a Mexican themed party and it went over amazingly! Took advice from others, used lemon cake and only lime juice. It stayed super moist! Didn't have other liquor so I just used tequila and thought it was perfect (but we're big tequila people). the icing tasted just like a margarita and the cake was a hit! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States