Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by chiklet4
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
LOVE this bundt cake - and so easy to make!! absolutely cannot find orange cake in our area, so i used vanilla cake mix + orange blossom liquid from williams-sonoma (1tsp) + orange zest from 2 large oranges - gives cake orange-fleck look, too. i added 8oz pkg of sour cream for a more dense, moist cake. icing is thin but remember, this is a 'glaze' not frosting like the gooey kind you see on birthday bundt cakes. use more powdered sugar, as others have suggested, and poke chopstick holes on the top of the cake to let the glaze ooze through the cake. top with sliced strawberries (fill the bundt hole, too) and lime zest for a pretty red-white-green mexican margarita cake! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I was so hopeful for this cake. I wanted to make it for a party so I made one the day before and the the cake deflated in the pan. The flavor was okay. Thinking it was just a fluke, I made another cake the next day and again it deflated. I have never had this happen to me and I have made MANY bundt cakes, my favorite being the Irish Cream on this site. Maybe there is too much liquid in this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I can't tell you how often I am requested to bake this awesome cake. I've used this recipe over 7 yrs. Sometime I use pistachio pudding or lemon cake mix if orange is not handy. I aleays get rave reviews. M.McWhorter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great! used tinned pinto beans and adjusted the spices to suit. Cooked ontop of stove added water as needed, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Awesome cake, everyone enjoyed it. I used white cake mix instead of orange and doubled the glaze- then triple glazed the cake. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've been making this for a few years now and it's ALWAYS a hit!! I get requests for it at parties all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Replaced orange cake with lemon, lemon pudding for vanilla, and anywhere it said lemon juice used lime and came out with a wonderfully moist, delicious cake. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I could not find an orange cake mix so I bought lemon. I added orange juice as well. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this recipe into cupcakes for a work baking contest - I got 2nd place - very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States