Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a great cake, however in the past I have always used lemon cake mix as I was unable to find orange. I made it with orange this time and it is not as good. I'll stick to the lemon which makes this one of the best cakes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA COMPTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I used the Duncan Hines Pineapple Cake mix & Grand Marinier instead of Triple Sec. I agree - the glaze is a bit thin, but the cake is delicious. I prefer the pineapple cake instead of the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Yummy cake! The first time I made it according to the recipe and it was perfect. The second time I tried adding more liquor to cake and icing but it tasted too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
WOW. This cake is delicious. I used lemon cake instead of orange. The first glaze was thin and didn't really make the cake look frosted. I did poke holes in the cake when I poured the glaze. I double glazed the cake like other reviewers but only a cup of powdered sugar and a juice of one lime and it was thick enough. Made this cake for a work party and it was a hit. Some folks poured a tequila shot on the cake and some took a shot then had a bite of cake. This is my new party cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent!!! Double the glaze as others have advised - wonderful refreshing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Subbed lemon cake for the orange, used grand marnier instead of triple sec, poked holes after the cake was done and poured more tequila on it (about 1/8 of a cup). For the glaze, used more sugar to make it thicker, added grand mariner instead of the triple sec and added lime zest for taste and color. FAB recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used lots more alcohol than called for - this cake is FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! My husband begs me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I made this cake for a Mexican Theme dinner and it was perfect. The recipe was easy to follow. I also used more confectionary sugar to the glaze because it was too thin..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It was good - we could really taste the alcohol. I used a yellow cake mix and substituted OJ for the water. I also used fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yoakum, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States