Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Yummy cake! The first time I made it according to the recipe and it was perfect. The second time I tried adding more liquor to cake and icing but it tasted too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
WOW. This cake is delicious. I used lemon cake instead of orange. The first glaze was thin and didn't really make the cake look frosted. I did poke holes in the cake when I poured the glaze. I double glazed the cake like other reviewers but only a cup of powdered sugar and a juice of one lime and it was thick enough. Made this cake for a work party and it was a hit. Some folks poured a tequila shot on the cake and some took a shot then had a bite of cake. This is my new party cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent!!! Double the glaze as others have advised - wonderful refreshing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Subbed lemon cake for the orange, used grand marnier instead of triple sec, poked holes after the cake was done and poured more tequila on it (about 1/8 of a cup). For the glaze, used more sugar to make it thicker, added grand mariner instead of the triple sec and added lime zest for taste and color. FAB recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used lots more alcohol than called for - this cake is FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! My husband begs me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I made this cake for a Mexican Theme dinner and it was perfect. The recipe was easy to follow. I also used more confectionary sugar to the glaze because it was too thin..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It was good - we could really taste the alcohol. I used a yellow cake mix and substituted OJ for the water. I also used fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yoakum, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Took this to my staff meeting and everyone loved it! Wasn't as "tequila-y" as I thought it would be, but a great recipe for a Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~*~Tropical Spice~*~
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
OMG I LOVE this CAKE!!! My family can't get enough of it either! I have been requested to make it over & over again! I do substitute limes for lemons in the recipe, gives it a more "margarita" taste! LOL. I also add EXTRA alcohol when I make it for me & my close friends! LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States