Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This wasn't bad, but not very margarita-y. I used another member's review to make this recipe better: Use white cake mix and vanilla pudding. Use lime juice instead of lemon juice. Use 2 1/4 Cups pre-made margarita (not the mix, the actual pour-and-serve kind). I also used applesauce instead of the oil, but that's inconsequential to the results. I made these as mini-bundts and they were delicious. For the glaze, I used 2 tablespoon lime juice, 4 tablespoons margarita, and 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar. I also added about 1 teaspoon of light corn syrup to thicken it a little. I glazed the cooled bundts, but it soaked right into the cake anyway. This made for a super moist and very flavorful bundt. The margarita flavor is all there, but with none of the alcohol after-taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Made this cake for a dinner party and it was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was a great recipe! I refrigerated it and served it after a Mexican food meal. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This cake was a great hit at a Fiesta Party I went to. I made 2 cakes, one with the liqueur and one without. When I made this cake I used Margarita Wine coolers instead of water for one cake and the 2nd cake I used the wine coolers instead of ALL liquids even to make the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This cake was easy to make and delish. Everyone thought it was great. You could really taste the tequila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My friend made this for a Cinco de Mayo party and it turned out deliciously. It looked beautiful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a great summer dessert. I originally made it for Cinco De Mayo and have used it for two cookouts this summer. I used Margarita Mix in place of all the liqours because it's all I had on hand. For the reviewers who stated it didn't taste like a margarita try it this way! It had the perfect zing of a margarita without being too much. I've also used an orange cake mix everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AarronJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erz2002
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This cake turned out very moist and tasty. I used white cake, although next time I might try it with the orange if I can find it. Also, I used lime juice in place of the lemon juice. I baked in a tube pan for 50 minutes. I ended adding more powdered sugar to get the glaze a little thicker. After the cake had cooled a bit, I placed it on a plate and poured the glaze over the top so the glaze could seep into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this cake for tailgating at the Jimmy Buffett concert and it was a big hit. I followed other reviewers' advice and used lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix and I also added the grated zest on one lime to the cake batter. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
a girl @ work made this cake for cinco de mayo..... delicious.. as most reviewers she used lemon cake due to lack of orange cake... wonderful. she baked in a 9x13 pan so the glaze worked perfectly. She made it again using lemon cake and lemon pudding with thicker glaze said it was even better !! Some non drinker co-workers said they would make with limeade but i would rather have leftover tequila and triple sec than mess with a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyclchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States