Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe ROCKS! It kinda made me feel like Sandra Lee - using mixes - but hey...it was amazing! I noticed in the reviews that not many people could find an orange cake mix, and neither could I, so I substituted a lemon one. I added some lime zest on top and it was good to go. It was a huge hit! I've made it twice and loved it both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
substitute lime juice for lemon make 2 batches of glaze, use some over hot cake, use rest when cool/ could pour shot of teq. and 2tbl grand marnair over hot cake. can substitute some oj for water. i am using yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great, easy, though I made some changes. Here is what I did: 1 box of yellow cake mix, 1 sm pack of vanilla pudding, 1/2c applesauce (replaced oil), 1/4c margarita mix, 1/4c tequila, 2T each of Triple Sec and Lime juice. Mix and cook per cake mix instructions (350 for ~40 min). Here is the big improvement -- the glaze is 1c regular sugar, 1/4c butter, 1/4c margarita mix, 1/2c tequila, splash of water, boiled for 5 min and then slowly drizzled over the cake once it is cool. Prick the entire top of the cake with a toothpick and over an hour add spoonfuls of the glaze. Slow is key for it to saturate the cake -- YUM! I dusted it with powdered sugar to pretty it up since the glaze is clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this cake twice and both times it was fantastic. Super moist and flavorful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very unique & flavorful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Everyone always wants the recipe when I make it. I usually do cupcakes with it because it is easier to serve to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fabulous recipe! I didn't have tequila, so just used the small can of Bacardi margarita mix(in the freezer section)instead of water, and orange juice because I couldn't find orange cake mix. The cake is so moist and absolutely delicious. A hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Made this for a mexican themed dinner and it was a huge hit!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
If I could give this cake more than 5 Stars, I would! I made it for a Co-Workers Birthday and she ate 3 pieces, everybody else had 2! I used White cake mix like others had suggested. I also used the juice of 2 limes in the mix, and 1 in the glaze. You do need lots more Powdered sugar in the glaze than it calls for too. VERY MOIST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The first time I made this exactly according to the directions. My glaze was thin and most of it ran off the cake and onto the serving plate. It was still a huge hit, and we wiped the yummy glaze off the plate with our fingers. The next time I made the glaze as directed, but as soon as the cake came out of the oven, I poked holes in it with a meat fork and poured the glaze over the top. I continued to let the cake cool in the pan for about a half hour, then inverted it onto the serving plate. After completely cooled, I dust the top with powdered sugar for an extra nice presentation. I've made it this way numerous times, and people at work always ask for the margarite cake whenever we have a potluck. I have never had a problem with the cake coming out of the pan, although as it is cooling, I occasionally jiggle the pan to ensure the cake stays loose. I have a good heavy Bundt pan, which I grease generously with Crisco, and dust with flour. Hope this helps, although this cake really needs no additional improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States