Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Awesome cake for a fiesta night!! I altered the recipe a little to make it with more umph. I used Cuervo for the cake and Grand Marnier where it calls for Triple Sec. Then poked the holes and put a shot of Patron Silver over the cake fresh out of the oven. I put 1/2 of the glaze on it after the shot (I used 1800 silver for the glaze). Let it cool for 15 minutes and flipped it on a serving tray. I then put the rest of the glaze of the first batch on the cake. Then I made a second batch with half of the liquid it called for. It made it nice and not too thick. Lay it on and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I liked this cake, but think I'll try it with the lemon cake next time. I thickened the glaze quite a bit as well and poured some over the bottom of the warm cake as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe ROCKS! It kinda made me feel like Sandra Lee - using mixes - but hey...it was amazing! I noticed in the reviews that not many people could find an orange cake mix, and neither could I, so I substituted a lemon one. I added some lime zest on top and it was good to go. It was a huge hit! I've made it twice and loved it both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
substitute lime juice for lemon make 2 batches of glaze, use some over hot cake, use rest when cool/ could pour shot of teq. and 2tbl grand marnair over hot cake. can substitute some oj for water. i am using yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great, easy, though I made some changes. Here is what I did: 1 box of yellow cake mix, 1 sm pack of vanilla pudding, 1/2c applesauce (replaced oil), 1/4c margarita mix, 1/4c tequila, 2T each of Triple Sec and Lime juice. Mix and cook per cake mix instructions (350 for ~40 min). Here is the big improvement -- the glaze is 1c regular sugar, 1/4c butter, 1/4c margarita mix, 1/2c tequila, splash of water, boiled for 5 min and then slowly drizzled over the cake once it is cool. Prick the entire top of the cake with a toothpick and over an hour add spoonfuls of the glaze. Slow is key for it to saturate the cake -- YUM! I dusted it with powdered sugar to pretty it up since the glaze is clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this cake twice and both times it was fantastic. Super moist and flavorful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very unique & flavorful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Everyone always wants the recipe when I make it. I usually do cupcakes with it because it is easier to serve to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fabulous recipe! I didn't have tequila, so just used the small can of Bacardi margarita mix(in the freezer section)instead of water, and orange juice because I couldn't find orange cake mix. The cake is so moist and absolutely delicious. A hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Made this for a mexican themed dinner and it was a huge hit!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States