Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used the lemon cake mix as everyone seemed to suggest, and I also used orange juice instead of water. The cake still just tasted like lemon cake. The glaze was far too runny and tasted like slightly margarita flavored powdered sugar. Made it to take to a dinner party, and now I need to make something else instead because it didn't turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I recently made this cake for an office b-day and it was a huge hit. I had to use lemon cake mix also as I couldn't find the orange however, I added an extra 1/2 tsp of triple sec (as it is orange flavored) to try and cut down the "lemony cake taste" and it did help. Very easy to make and already giving out the recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was the best. I'd been waiting for 2 months to have an ocassion to make it! I couldn't find an orange cake mix so I added 1 TBSP orange extract to a yellow cake mix. [Also, I tried the margarita salt on half, but didn't care for it on the cake.] Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I first made this cake for a company lunch on May 12, 2009. Since then I have had to make three more. Everyone loves it so much I hated sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was a hit at this years Cinco de Mayo party. I did change the recipe a bit and added pineapple tequila instead of plain. Also orange juice instead of water. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Made this cake twice and it turned out well both times! I added some lemon rinds to the glaze just for an added effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
No orange cake mix so I used Lemon. I used an already prepared Margarita mix. Turned out great. I even tried it with Strawberry Margarita mix. Next time I think I'll try it with a regular yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I used the Jose Cuervo mini margaritas everywhere it called for separate margarita ingredients...I also followed many of the other reviewer's advice and used yellow cake mix, replaced the oil with applesauce, and made 2 seperate batches of the icing with one of them only using half of the liquid ingredients. When the cake came out of the oven, I poke holes in it and drizzled half of the thin batch of icing on it. I let it cool for about 10 minutes, then turned it onto a plate and poured the other half of the icing on...I waited about a half hour before drizzling the thicker icing on. SOOOO GOOD!! Doesn't taste too "alcohol-y" or sweet, believe it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Awesome cake for a fiesta night!! I altered the recipe a little to make it with more umph. I used Cuervo for the cake and Grand Marnier where it calls for Triple Sec. Then poked the holes and put a shot of Patron Silver over the cake fresh out of the oven. I put 1/2 of the glaze on it after the shot (I used 1800 silver for the glaze). Let it cool for 15 minutes and flipped it on a serving tray. I then put the rest of the glaze of the first batch on the cake. Then I made a second batch with half of the liquid it called for. It made it nice and not too thick. Lay it on and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I liked this cake, but think I'll try it with the lemon cake next time. I thickened the glaze quite a bit as well and poured some over the bottom of the warm cake as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States