Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used a lemon and it came out just fine! It was a hit at the office this morning, Tequila for breakfast - and the boss wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahwalker
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I was a little skeptical about using the cake and pudding mix but took this cake to a mexican party and it was a real hit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I changed the cake mix to lemon. Put the lime juice in the cake and the lemon juice in the glaze. Then doubled the sugar in the glaze to thicken it up some. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very refreshing! Quick and easy--the entire cake was finished in about 5 minutes. For sure a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleeniegirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used a reviewer's idea , Cookin in D-town, doubled the glaze and added shots to it when it came out of the oven. Please note: I made this cake 5 hours before I served it and no one could eat it because it was way to strong. Lesson learned: If you make it the same day, don't add shots after it comes out of the oven! The next day, the cake tasted fabulous! I used a white cake mix and added fresh lemon juice like the recipe calls for; I feel the lemon juice complimented all the lime favors. I only use fresh squeezed juice, never the bottled kind. The flavor is night & day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Awesome cake for my office Cinco de Mayo potluck! I couldn't find the orange cake mix but substituted with orange jell-o and orange extract. I made the icing a little thicker than suggested. Super easy cake to make and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious with these changes: White cake mix, lemon pudding, lime instead of lemon juice, and double the glaze. For the moistest cake, poke holes in hot cake and pour 1/3 glaze over it while still in the pan, then wait 10 minutes, turn out cake, poke & glaze with another third (a pastry brush was helpful), then add more sugar to remaining glaze to thicken it and drizzle that over cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I did exactly as the recipe directed and when I took the cake out I checked it with toothpicks throughout to make sure it was done. The whole cake collapsed within 15 minutes of taking it out. It called for WAY too much pudding...it was way too moist and not very cake-like. The taste of tequila was overwhelming and did not seem to go with the flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This a cake that is worth five stars. When I made this recipe I used jumbo cupcakes and the frosting recipe chance it by adding 8oz. of cream cheese and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. everybody in my family and at work love th cupcakes and ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States