Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely horrible! I did exactly as the recipe directed and when I took the cake out I checked it with toothpicks throughout to make sure it was done. The whole cake collapsed within 15 minutes of taking it out. Even though it looked horrible I powered on and tried a piece. It called for WAY too much pudding...it was way too moist and not very cake-like. The taste of tequila was overwhelming and did not seem to go with the flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This a cake that is worth five stars. When I made this recipe I used jumbo cupcakes and the frosting recipe chance it by adding 8oz. of cream cheese and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. everybody in my family and at work love th cupcakes and ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have made this cake several times. It is soo..good. It is a great dessert for summer time .I bring it to potlucks that I have been asked to supply the dessert for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
So good!! I also could not find orange cake mix, so I used yellow cake and used orange juice instead of water. I did not make any other changes to the cake and it came out perfect...fluffy and moist. I'm at high altitude, so maybe the 15.25 oz cake mix wasn't an issue. I did 1.5x the glaze and I think it was just right. The glaze is pretty "boozy" the first day, but after the first day it's much more mellow. But, it's still delicious the first day. Everyone who has tried it has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Made this cake using Lemon cake mix as well as lemon pudding. Substituted lime juice for lemon and added a little more tequila! Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I noticed in some of the reviews that people had issues with the cake sinking or deflating. I'm willing to bet that the problem is that they were using smaller cake mixes that were 16.5oz rather than the 18.25oz listed in the recipe. Last year Duncan Hines decreased their boxed cake mixes by 1.75oz and it makes a BIG difference if you are trying to "doctor" a mix. I usually buy an extra box of cake mix so that I can get back to the original 18.25oz weight. I hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Very disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. I needed a recipe for a Cinco de Mayo potluck and thought this would be perfect. I made it with the lemon cake mix and doubled the glaze. The glaze had a nice flavor but was too thin to make much of an impact on the overall flavor of the lemon cake. It was definitely not a hit at the party- less than half was eaten. If you decide to make it, double the glaze, and add more powdered sugar to make the glaze thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Followed the basic recipe but I added green food coloring to the orange cake and grated key lime peel. When the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in the top and added icing with grated key lime peel to the icing and made it a little thinner so it would soak into the cake. Once the cake cooled I made another batch of icing and added key lime peel to it and made it thicker and iced the cake. Then sprinkled margarita salt on top of the cake. My husband and I LOVED the cake it was hard not to eat the entire cake at one sitting! Will be making this cake a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is by far the best bundt cake ever. My family goes nuts over it. I like to poke small holes on top and drizzle more booze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this cake all the time; I'm actually in the process of doing nine of them for an event this weekend. Since I can't always find orange cake mix, I tend to substitute the water with orange juice, and use white cake mix as the base. There are times I'll use a lemon icing or glaze instead of the glaze above, depending on people's alcohol tolerances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States