Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laurie Chevrette
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made 12 cupcakes with this recipe but they needed to bake about 30 - 35 minutes which is the same time as quoted for 9 x 13 cake...found that odd. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Chevrette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Lovely blend of flavors, neither frosty or cake is too overwhelming. The citrus zest is purely perfect for this lime lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made these for a New Years Eve party so I added 3 shots of tequila to the frosting. AMAZING! I can't wait to make these again. The cake was so moist and flavorful and the tequila in the frosting made it taste just like a margarita. I did have about twice as much frosting as I needed to frost the 16 cupcakes it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Really good and I just used MOSTLY what I had on hand so people don't get upset that we rate with tweaks people need to know they can replace ingredients and I find most suggestions helpful. SO I didn't have lime so I used sweat & sour and some triple sec! I didn't make the frosting just because but I did add a little bit of sour green candy just to make it look more festive and it really worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OMG! This is so good.......my boys just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this for a summer party; cake is moist, nice uniform & dense crumb, and tasty with the lime flavor; overall a fabulous easy recipe. The glaze is lovely too, BUT it overpowers the lovely flavor of the cake itself. I also added a full TBSP of tequilla which may have a bit to do with the overpowering nature of the glaze! LoL... I would highly recommend this recipe, but would switch out the glaze for a much lighter version (no cream cheese, just a simple light glaze, or even just a light dusting of plain old powdered sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband loved these. I thought they were too sweet. I used bottled Marqarita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this for Cinco de Mayo. I made cupcakes instead (made 17) and they turned out great. Others were correct....it made a lot of icing. I think you could just use 4 cups of powdered sugar and it would be plenty. The only modificiations I made were to add 3 Tbs of lime juice to the icing instead of just 1, and to add a drop of green food coloring to the icing. Oh, and I candied some lime to put on top. They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made these a few times and people love them. I usually half the frosting recipe and use mini cupcakes. I inject them with a bit of tequila before I frost for an extra hint of margarita goodness. They bake really quick and don't turn brown just have to watch carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States