Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Made this for my sister's "Beach Theme" bridal shower. We didn't change a single thing from the recipe. I actually doubled the cake batter and made in two sizes of springform pans so I could make a layer cake. We used one batch of frosting and dyed it blue like the ocean. I got SO many compliments on the cake - on how it fit the theme, on how great it tasted and looked. Even my husband wants me to remake this. I used the frozen Bacardi Daiquiri mix (same as margarita, since the difference is the kind of alcohol). I will definitely make again - this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
SO GOOD! I really loved the flavors in both the cake and the frosting. I didn't change a thing besides making them into cupcakes and they went over really well with everyone. Decorated with Nerds candies (colorful & a little sour) and lemon zest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very yummy recipe. I only gave it 4-stars because I could not find the frozen margarita mix. After 4 stores I gave up and used a can of limeade. Took these to our Girls Night Out dinner and they loved them. I made them in my little muffin tins and got 65 cupcakes from 1 batch. The frosting was great. I added liquid margarita mix instead of the lime juice. I have about 1 1/4 cups of frosting leftover. It will taste great on graham crackers. Thanks for sharing your recipe Tori Belle. The waiter and waitresses liked the cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Perhaps I should not have refrigerated so long prior to serving, so I will not give it the 1 star that I feel mine was worth. The cake was dry and crumbly and the icing seemed like a separate item to the cake. I wanted it to be chilled and refreshing - if I try it again I will not refrigerate prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I got raves for these cupcakes. I used zero calorie margarita mix by Baja Bob and replaced the oil with equal amounts of no sugar added apple sauce. I made my own low calorie cream cheese frosting and added a little margarita mix to it. I did not use any lime juice or lemon juice . They were awesome, making them again tonight! Not everyone at work got to try them others had 3 or 4 cupcakes them self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Thorson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this as per the recipe (including the Tequila) for an office party on Cinco de Mayo. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Well, we'll see how it goes over at the office tomorrow. I found it to be really sweet, really rich. The frosting is amazing, though!! I added a little green food coloring. I also put it in an 8X8 pan to make a little cake and 6 cupcakes. The cake really sunk in the middle....maybe I just divided the batter into the wrong sizes. I guess if you like margaritas, you'll like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great party pleaser. Too much icing though - very sweet. But over all a winner, and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe with cupcakes. I think with a little tweeking, they could be good but I ended up over baking them. I'll definitely try them again and start testing them at about 20 minutes. The icing was too thin for piping though. I tried adding more sugar which helped some but it just never seemed to get thick enough to actually pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This cake is yummy and I plan to make it again for this year's Cinco de Mayo party at our office. I only wish that people wouldn't give recipes bad ratings when they change the ingredients. The overall ratings are then skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States