Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great frosting! The cake consistency was a little "off" from the margarita mix...and a little too tart. I think just the lime zest and juice would be lovely. I also agree with others, it needs the tequila to taste like a margarita...otherwise it's just citrus cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
OMG! We couldn't stay out of these. My husband even loved them and he isn't a big sweet eater! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very Good. I have made this at least 10 times and get many 'thumbs up' and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and went by the recipe just as written. I couldn't find the frozen Bacardi mix so I used 10 oz of Jose Cuervo Margarita Mix from a bottle we had and it worked just as well. The cupcakes only took about 15 minutes to bake. I also thought the frosting was wonderful and had just enough for the cupcakes (I don't skimp on frosting). I think using real lime zest and juice and real lemon zest make the taste so great. Everyone who ate them said they were the best cupcakes they ever had. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe the other night and they were fabulous! I substituted applesauce for the oil and put 2 oz of tequila in the cupcake batter. I also but a little of the Bacardi mix in the icing. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeses18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Flavorful, moist cupcakes. Great dessert to finish off a mexican dinner. This recipe did yield me 24 cupcakes, not 12 as listed in the recipe. I made no changes, and have actually used the frosting for other cakes....it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The cake was fluffy and moist, but it didn't have the "bite" of margarita, which I found disappointing. Not sure what to add to give it that...these were just citrus cupcakes in my mind. However, my husband asked for them again after he polished off the first batch, so it gets four stars instead of three. Edit: I just remade these and added tequila to the frosting. MUCH better...now they actually taste like a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
One of the few recipes where I followed the directions and it turned out perfectly. Others said it made too much icing, but I used a large or extra large 1m Wilton tip on cupcakes and had just enough. Follow he directions and you will not be disapointed. I couldn't find the frozen mix but bought a mix that already contained the tequilla and skipped the thawing stage and it worked out perfectly. I garnished each cupcake with a lime wedge and sugar crystals and bendy straw. It was too cute! Thanks for an amazing recipe! The taste was light but it was there, not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenslayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This rating is just for the frosting. This frosting is AMAZING!!! I put it on a lemon cake a while ago and it was a fabulous lemon-lime mix. I froze the extra frosting and it still had the smooth texture--I halved the frosting recipe and integrated that into my stored portion with amazing results! This frosting is not too sweet; it's a wonderful mix of tangy and sweet. It is my go-to frosting now for vanilla or non-chocolate cakes. Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Try it with frozen limeade & marachino cherry juice! I call them cherry limeade cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geralyn Madigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States