Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Most awsome cupcake I have made in a year. So glad I gave it a try. Daughter was empressed with the moist cake, before I added the Cuervo via injetor. I made two kinds for my Birthday a doz. with tequila and a doz. without for non-drinkers. I went a little out on a limb with the tequila ones and added salt on top with a wedge of lime as garnish and just green sugar for the non alcoholic ones ,I had to use grated lime peel in the frosting because I had on lemons. The taste did not suffer. Will make again maybe for the southern round-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT!! I made it following the directions and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Disappointing. These were nothing like what I had imagined. I added 3 T. of tequila, which made the frosting very runny. I don't know what I did wrong, but won't be making these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We were a little worried that these would be too tart but they were perfect. Very rich, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
family liked these. I could not get frozen margarita mix so I just used 10 oz of premade liquid margarita mixer and it worked fine. I did not use the booze in the frosting so hubby thought they just tasted like citrus cupcakes though we did like them. I didn't use the booze in the frosting at first with kids eating them...but later added 1tb of tequila to the half batch and it was better.more like a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These cupcakes are fantastic!!!! Love them, love them, did I mention that I love them? Will definitely add this recipe to my menu for girls night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great frosting! The cake consistency was a little "off" from the margarita mix...and a little too tart. I think just the lime zest and juice would be lovely. I also agree with others, it needs the tequila to taste like a margarita...otherwise it's just citrus cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
OMG! We couldn't stay out of these. My husband even loved them and he isn't a big sweet eater! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very Good. I have made this at least 10 times and get many 'thumbs up' and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and went by the recipe just as written. I couldn't find the frozen Bacardi mix so I used 10 oz of Jose Cuervo Margarita Mix from a bottle we had and it worked just as well. The cupcakes only took about 15 minutes to bake. I also thought the frosting was wonderful and had just enough for the cupcakes (I don't skimp on frosting). I think using real lime zest and juice and real lemon zest make the taste so great. Everyone who ate them said they were the best cupcakes they ever had. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States