Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OMG! This is so good.......my boys just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this for a summer party; cake is moist, nice uniform & dense crumb, and tasty with the lime flavor; overall a fabulous easy recipe. The glaze is lovely too, BUT it overpowers the lovely flavor of the cake itself. I also added a full TBSP of tequilla which may have a bit to do with the overpowering nature of the glaze! LoL... I would highly recommend this recipe, but would switch out the glaze for a much lighter version (no cream cheese, just a simple light glaze, or even just a light dusting of plain old powdered sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband loved these. I thought they were too sweet. I used bottled Marqarita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this for Cinco de Mayo. I made cupcakes instead (made 17) and they turned out great. Others were correct....it made a lot of icing. I think you could just use 4 cups of powdered sugar and it would be plenty. The only modificiations I made were to add 3 Tbs of lime juice to the icing instead of just 1, and to add a drop of green food coloring to the icing. Oh, and I candied some lime to put on top. They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made these a few times and people love them. I usually half the frosting recipe and use mini cupcakes. I inject them with a bit of tequila before I frost for an extra hint of margarita goodness. They bake really quick and don't turn brown just have to watch carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Made it for a Mexican theme party, huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I made this for a gathering tonight and it was very well received. I used lemon zest from a bottle, which was fine for the cake, but not a good idea for the icing as it gave it a slightly strange texture, so in the future I would make my own zest. When I was about to add the egg whites, it seemed strange to just pour them in, so I beat them first, somewhere between frothy and soft peaks. This gave the cake an almost angelfood texture that was very good. Excellent recipe and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Everyone but me loved this cake. I made it into cupcakes exactly as written and they were perfectly done in 18 minutes. I added extra lemon zest to the frosting because you can never have too much lemon. My only complaint was the texture of the cake. It was just "off", kinda gummy even though fully baked. But no one but me seemed to notice. So 3 stars from me and 5 stars from everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skiing914
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I just made this recipe (cupcakes) for the first time and I WILL be making it again several times this summer! The cupcakes were to die for and so easy to make pretty. I attached a picture. They looked and tasted gourmet and everyone loved them! My only thing was, the recipe did not make 24 cupcakes. I only got 18 and I didn't overfill them. Next time, I will double the recipe. Also, the cream cheese frosting is delicious, however, they shouldn't call it "key lime" since key lime juice (which is different from regular lime) is not used. For decoration, I used a thin, half slice of lime, a pinch of coconut and lime colored sugar sprinkles on top. Beautiful if I do say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States