Margarita Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I found a simple way to add the perfect amount of lime. I changed the re pie by adding a box of lemon frosted cookies and the grated rind of one fresh lime to the mix. I adjusted the tequila until the mix was wet enough. The final touch was to mix one box lime jello with 1/3 cup powdered sugar and 1/3 cup whit sugar to roll the balls in. The lime jello gives just the right kick! I was asked for the recipe several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Adkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Look closely at the package of vanilla wafers. Nabisco's used to be 12 ozs, but changed now to 11 ozs. Found out the hard way when I made some Jack Daniels Balls recently...they came out mushy. SIGH!!!! Going to try making these this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Very disappointed in these. I followed the recipe as written except I used lime marmalade instead of orange because orange is not really a flavor I associate with margaritas. Even so, there was not much margarita flavor and I could not taste the tequila at all and I used Patron. (Always use the best liquor you can!) Will have to do more tweaking to this to get it up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
A fun novelty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Several people told me that these were wonderful. I followed the original recipe, but added a squeeze of lime and a shot of cointreau- delicious! Also, as someone else suggested, I let these sit in the fridge for 5 days and they DID get better with time! yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These were a smash hit at our Pre-Mexico vacation Fiesta party!!!! There was just a nice hint of tequila. I dipped them in lime juice before rolling in sugar and this gave them the hint of lime. They were eaten up very quickly! I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cake-aroo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe....the only thing that I changed was adding (approx.) a tablespoon of lime juice. It just gives it that extra touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Made two(2) batches for a party, and my husband is telling me the Margarita balls do not taste right,and he can't even taste the tajeuila. After checking out the recipe again, the lime juice or other sour ingredient is missing, lacking the taste in the margarita balls. will remake them adding lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I make these every Christmas to give as little gifts. I think the most important thing is to make them at least 4-5 days before you plan on serving them. Store in fridge. The longer they sit, the better they are. I also always add a little extra tequila to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These were okay. Didn't really taste like margarita's. In fact you couldn't really taste the tequila or the marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States