Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
Perfect....YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Wonderfully yummy pie. Rich rich flavor. Small pieces are best! The only thing I did wrong was to not mix my flour, sugar and cocoa well enough before adding my egg mixture. Was a tad lumpy. Corrected it on my next one. A real winner. Simple easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This was very good but WAY too sweet. I left out the butter and added a square of semisweet chocolate. Next time, I will reduce the sugar in the filling to 1 cup. But overall, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Very good chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Excellent chocolate pie recipe. I added a few chocolate chips to mixture while hot after it thickens. While pie crust is hot, sprinkle more chocolate chips onto crust, let melt in oven a few minutes, and brush around the whole crust. Instead of egg white topping, we used whipped cream. Decadent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This is an excellent pie recipe.Everything is on-hand and can be made in a snap.I did add 2T choco chips but probably wasn't necessary.I would definitly add 1t vanilla when you add the butter though.Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
The chocolate pie was great! We found the meringue on top to make it too sweet for us, so I make it without it now and just put dollops of whipped cream around the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Bullseye! This is a fantastic recipe. The chocolate and sweetness are perfectly balanced. Lumps have always been a major problem with my chocolate pies. Some tips I used to avoid unsightly lumpiness (which is inevitable with recipes like this) was to sift the dry ingredients together, stir the liquid mixture constantly and then strain out smaller lumps as it begins to thicken on the stove. The egg proteins will cause some lumps as they cook -- and espcially as you scrape the bottom of the sauce pan with the flat bottom spoon. Fortunately, they smooth right out after adding the butter with a little help from the handheld mixer. My end result was a perfectly firm, but creamy smooth texture and a delicious flavor. Thanks for submitting this recipe. Reminds me of Mom's chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
thank you i serched everywhere for this type chocolate pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I used 1 cup of whipping cream instead of the evaporated milk and it came out with a pleasing goey-fudge texture. Is that how its supposed to be? It tastes a little like a "hot cocoa fudge". I made the pie with the meringue and put it in the fridge over night, DONT do this! The meringue shrinks and turns syrupy.. Either eat it the day you make it or make the pie and then the meringue on the day you eat it. Overall this is a great tasting pie, very unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States