Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Very good and extremely easy! I like the meringue topping, but my kids prefer a whipped topping. Beat 1 c. heavy cream until soft peaks form then add 1/4-1/2 c. confectioners' sugar and vanilla if you like - top with this and it is a sweeter treat - great with coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Excellent recipe if you have a sweet tooth like I do. Gets a lot of dishes dirty but it's worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Excellent recipe and very much like the one my mother used to make! The only change I made in this recipe is I cooked the filling in the oven rather than in a saucepan and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Success! I bought a new KitchenAid stand mixer and couldn't wait to make something in it. I decided to try a chocolate pie (something I have never made before). The pie was fantastic and the meringue (thanks to my new mixer) was beautiful and tasted great! I do agree w/another reviewer to read the basics to making meringue. I had never made it before either, and that information was helpful. Anyway...great pie! I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe tasted fine, but my meringue was a total disaster! Everything that could possibly have gone wrong did - it shrank horribly, it was so wet underneath that it slid all over the chocolate filling, and it beaded up on top more than I've ever seen. I'll attribute part of this to lack of experience with meringues on my part, but I've also got to place a little blame on the vagueness of this recipe. When I later read the allrecipes.com article on making the perfect meringue, I learned about all sorts of meringue do-nots - and that I had done them all! Unless you're already a meringue-baking expert, you should probably save this recipe until you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I used 1 cup of whipping cream instead of the evaporated milk and it came out with a pleasing goey-fudge texture. Is that how its supposed to be? It tastes a little like a "hot cocoa fudge". I made the pie with the meringue and put it in the fridge over night, DONT do this! The meringue shrinks and turns syrupy.. Either eat it the day you make it or make the pie and then the meringue on the day you eat it. Overall this is a great tasting pie, very unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
thank you i serched everywhere for this type chocolate pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Bullseye! This is a fantastic recipe. The chocolate and sweetness are perfectly balanced. Lumps have always been a major problem with my chocolate pies. Some tips I used to avoid unsightly lumpiness (which is inevitable with recipes like this) was to sift the dry ingredients together, stir the liquid mixture constantly and then strain out smaller lumps as it begins to thicken on the stove. The egg proteins will cause some lumps as they cook -- and espcially as you scrape the bottom of the sauce pan with the flat bottom spoon. Fortunately, they smooth right out after adding the butter with a little help from the handheld mixer. My end result was a perfectly firm, but creamy smooth texture and a delicious flavor. Thanks for submitting this recipe. Reminds me of Mom's chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
The chocolate pie was great! We found the meringue on top to make it too sweet for us, so I make it without it now and just put dollops of whipped cream around the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This is an excellent pie recipe.Everything is on-hand and can be made in a snap.I did add 2T choco chips but probably wasn't necessary.I would definitly add 1t vanilla when you add the butter though.Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States