Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This pie was awesome! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I've made this pie several times just in the last two weeks and it's absolutely perfect. The best chocolate flavor, almost a light fudge flavor. I skipped the meringue topping the last time and did cool whip. Highly recommend this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
The best chocolate pie I ever had. Thank you Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This recipe was great! It turned out more like a brownie pie than a creamy chocolate pie but no one complained. I'm glad I reduced the sugar to one cup or else it would have been too rich. I wrote this recipe out on a recipe card because I'm definately making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is the best chocolate pie recipe! I have been making the same chocolate pie recipe for over 10 years and this one tops it. This is now the staple for my pies. You can't go wrong with this recipe-its so easy to follow and turned out perfect with no lumping. Thanks for sharing this one Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Very good and extremely easy! I like the meringue topping, but my kids prefer a whipped topping. Beat 1 c. heavy cream until soft peaks form then add 1/4-1/2 c. confectioners' sugar and vanilla if you like - top with this and it is a sweeter treat - great with coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Excellent recipe if you have a sweet tooth like I do. Gets a lot of dishes dirty but it's worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Excellent recipe and very much like the one my mother used to make! The only change I made in this recipe is I cooked the filling in the oven rather than in a saucepan and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Success! I bought a new KitchenAid stand mixer and couldn't wait to make something in it. I decided to try a chocolate pie (something I have never made before). The pie was fantastic and the meringue (thanks to my new mixer) was beautiful and tasted great! I do agree w/another reviewer to read the basics to making meringue. I had never made it before either, and that information was helpful. Anyway...great pie! I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe tasted fine, but my meringue was a total disaster! Everything that could possibly have gone wrong did - it shrank horribly, it was so wet underneath that it slid all over the chocolate filling, and it beaded up on top more than I've ever seen. I'll attribute part of this to lack of experience with meringues on my part, but I've also got to place a little blame on the vagueness of this recipe. When I later read the allrecipes.com article on making the perfect meringue, I learned about all sorts of meringue do-nots - and that I had done them all! Unless you're already a meringue-baking expert, you should probably save this recipe until you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States