Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Excellent filling! I didn't use the meringue recipe, but the chocolate filling was awesome! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT Pie I did read the reviews before I made the pie and made a few changes. I used only 1 Cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of cocoa powder so it was a little more chocolate taste. My husband loved it and next time I'll have to make a double recipe. Thanks for the great pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Wonderful, made this for company this past Sunday it was a hit. Tasted like what mom use to make. I will make this again. Thank you Becky for the great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I was sorry I made this. Make this pie on July 4th and everyone remarked that this pie was way tooo sweet. I think one needs to cut back on the sugar. Maybe 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/3?? I think 6 T of sugar in the maringue is a lot. I put in 5 T sugar and still thought it was too sweet. I should have looked at the calorie count on this recipe and realized. At 428 calories a slice, this recipe is definately not worth it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was ok but not the best. The texture was great but the flavor wasnt choclatey enough for me although my husband and 5 year old daughter loved it. I'll mess with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This pie was awesome! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I've made this pie several times just in the last two weeks and it's absolutely perfect. The best chocolate flavor, almost a light fudge flavor. I skipped the meringue topping the last time and did cool whip. Highly recommend this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
The best chocolate pie I ever had. Thank you Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This recipe was great! It turned out more like a brownie pie than a creamy chocolate pie but no one complained. I'm glad I reduced the sugar to one cup or else it would have been too rich. I wrote this recipe out on a recipe card because I'm definately making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is the best chocolate pie recipe! I have been making the same chocolate pie recipe for over 10 years and this one tops it. This is now the staple for my pies. You can't go wrong with this recipe-its so easy to follow and turned out perfect with no lumping. Thanks for sharing this one Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States