Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This pie was good and easy to make. We found it a little too sweet. I think next time i will cut out 1/3 of the sugar. Definately a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is how a good ole chocolate pie should taste like. Nice and thick, so when it's cut it won't run. The flavor was awesome and it was so simple to make. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I used Splenda and shouldn't have. Chocolate pie is supposed to be sweet and would have been with real sugar! I added some chocolate chips for flavor, reduced the egg yolk to 2 and my husband liked it, but next time I'll sacrifice the calories for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Byrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This pie was awesome. My mom has traditionally made chocolate pies every year at Christmas. This year, I made the pies, and I used this recipe. After tasting it, my mom asked me for the recipe! Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I actually made a double recipe of this pie using Splenda instead of sugar and even the meringue turned out great. I think my Dad ate the pie in less than one day and then wanted the recipe. One thing I learned (and maybe it's just the case with Splenda substituted) is that using a nonstick skillet is much better than a saucepan. Even with me constantly stirring, it scorched on two different pans and then did great when I finally moved to the nonstick pan. One note: If you are subbing Splenda for sugar, you may wish to reduce the Splenda amount slightly from what is called for in sugar quantity - Splenda tends to turn out a little sweeter than sugar. Great recipe - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I did not care for this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe is perfect the way it is! First attempt, I followed other's advice and used 1/3 cup cocoa and omitted the extra 1/3 cup sugar. The pie tasted allright, but had lots of cocoa lumps and wasn't really presentable. Second time around I made it according to original recipe and also sifted all dry ingredients - not only was it beautiful, it was delicious (and we didn't think it was overly sweet like others did)! SO, my advice is to stick with the recipe as is!! (only thing different I did use Emeril's recipe for meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Excellent filling! I didn't use the meringue recipe, but the chocolate filling was awesome! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT Pie I did read the reviews before I made the pie and made a few changes. I used only 1 Cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of cocoa powder so it was a little more chocolate taste. My husband loved it and next time I'll have to make a double recipe. Thanks for the great pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Wonderful, made this for company this past Sunday it was a hit. Tasted like what mom use to make. I will make this again. Thank you Becky for the great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States