Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
i made this pie w/o the mirangue. very good. but the already baked pie crust might be a bad idea b/c it got a little too brown. add more cocoa use less sugar. however we ate it warm w/ peanutbutter and whipped cream....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The texture was horrible. It was like thick frosting similar to fudge...but not fudge! The flavor wasn't bad, but I just couldn't handle the texture and neither could my guests. I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe it would have been better to fold in whipped topping to lighten the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was an excellent chocolate pie! Very good flavor and didn't run when cut! I did modify it just a little. I added a tsp of vanilla, I used two extra tbls of cocoa and I melted 1oz of unsweetened chocolate when I added the butter (I used 2 tsp of butter instead of 3 tsp of marg which gave the flavor more depth). I baked the pie late last night and by this morning I noticed that 1/2 of the pie was already eaten, but then we are chocoholics! You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This pie was fantastic. I actually doubled the recipe and I accidentally used egg whites in the recipe and it still turned out wonderfully. I did not use the recipe for merangue and did bake the pie for about 30 mins. I will certainly make this again! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHENSGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
MONDO-BEYONDO-MEGA GOOD!!!!! This is the only chocolate pie we'll ever do again!!!!!! We doubled the recipe, added a couple extra tablespoons of coco powder. During the cooking, it goes from thin liquid to gelatinous mess is a flash! YIKES! But, based on other reviewers (THANK YOU!) we didn't panic because we knew we could thin it out with the addition of the butter and a little blending with the immersion blender. Once we did that it was a masterpiece! The taste of this pie is AMAZING! So fudgy and chocolately! Thank you so much for this recipe, it's awesome!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband said this was a "sticky" chocolate pie. He must prefer a pudding like chocolate pie. If that is what your looking for, this is not the recipe. This recipe is very rich and fudge like. With that said I gave it a 3 because my kids loved it. If your looking for rich and fudge like, here it is. This was very easy to make. I took the other reviewers advice and added a couple extra teaspoons of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I consider myself to be a pretty good cook and have made numerous recipes from this site and others but, this pie was horrible! The consistency was far from velvet and the flavor was not good. In my opinion, if you're looking for an easy chocolate pie stick with the good old-fashioned pudding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was a hit. I will made it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This pie is so good the only thing I changed was I added I tsp of vanilla and used whip topping and a store bought crust wow so good thank you I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States