Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have made this twice now,the second time I added a teaspoon of vanilla flavoring which enhanced the chocolate flavor.Either way,it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe but I doubled the cocoa, added a heaping tablespoon flour and 1 cup water since it was too sweet for my taste. Also a pinch of salt increased the flavor. With these changes it made 2 pies (not deep dish)and was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Whoever gives this pie less than 5 stars has made a mistake in preparing the pie. The texture is creamy and it is not too sweet. I have been searching for years for a recipe that would rival my mothers'cooks recipe and I have finally found it. The only exception is that Mom's cook used REAL whipped cream (not sweetened with any sugar) instead of meringue.OUTSTANDING. Also,be prepared to sit or stand awhile and stir the filling on the stove while it thickens up. Towards the end you might want to have a whisk handy to avoid any lumps.THIS IS A TRUE SOUTHERN RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great pie. I've been trying to find a recipe like my mother-in-law's thick fudgy chocolate pies. This one is GREAT. Beautiful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I am a baker as in that is my profession. This pie was way too sweet. You could use half the amount of sugar and it would be much better. It is strange in texture. It is like a thick hershey syrup. If I make this again, I will half to make a few revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
very good with a nice consistency. Followed the recipe as written. I agree with some reviewers who suggested that filling might be a little skimpy so next time I will either prepare double or 1 1/2 times recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
i made this pie w/o the mirangue. very good. but the already baked pie crust might be a bad idea b/c it got a little too brown. add more cocoa use less sugar. however we ate it warm w/ peanutbutter and whipped cream....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The texture was horrible. It was like thick frosting similar to fudge...but not fudge! The flavor wasn't bad, but I just couldn't handle the texture and neither could my guests. I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe it would have been better to fold in whipped topping to lighten the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was an excellent chocolate pie! Very good flavor and didn't run when cut! I did modify it just a little. I added a tsp of vanilla, I used two extra tbls of cocoa and I melted 1oz of unsweetened chocolate when I added the butter (I used 2 tsp of butter instead of 3 tsp of marg which gave the flavor more depth). I baked the pie late last night and by this morning I noticed that 1/2 of the pie was already eaten, but then we are chocoholics! You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This pie was fantastic. I actually doubled the recipe and I accidentally used egg whites in the recipe and it still turned out wonderfully. I did not use the recipe for merangue and did bake the pie for about 30 mins. I will certainly make this again! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States