Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is first time I tried making this pie. It turned out awesome!!! I made it with granulated splenda and it was just perfect. I used just the same amount of splenda as the sugar required in the original recipe. I increased a amount of cream of tartar to 3/4 teaspoon and it turned out good. EASY & AWESOME!!! Will make more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Excellent! I even made a batch of the filling to fill my cream puffs, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for and the whole family said to not change a thing about what I'd done. So, what did I do? Per many other reviews saying it was too sweet, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I cooked the filling on 4 (on a 1 to 8 dial) for exactly seven minutes, stirring constantly with a flathead wooden spoon, scraping the bottom where the filling wants to thicken up. Then, to fight these lumps from the bottom, when I pulled it from the heat, I used a wire whisk to stir in the butter which I had set out before I began so it would get soft. With the wire whisk I was able to create a completely consistent filling. I poured the filling in into my crust which I had cooked for ten minutes in the 325 degree oven. Then, and this is a time the original recipe doesn't give since it uses visual cues to judge, I cooked the pie for exactly 24 minutes also at 325 degrees. I cooked it with just the chocolate filling because I prefer whipped cream to meringue. Then I cooled it in the refrigerator over night. It had a perfect texture and a mild chocolate flavor that went great with the crispy flour crust and the sweet whipped cream. My mother, father and brother all talked about how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've made this pie numerous times for many occasions and family gatherings and have received nothing but fantastic reviews. I have always followed the original recipe, and have always used a mixer when I add the butter and my filling has never been lumpy. As for the filling setting, never a problem, I've never had a problem with it scorching either. It's a fantastic recipe! Noone has ever asked me for the recipe, just the pies!!! If I see someone somewhere they will ask me where their pie is, I guess everyone I know just likes to eat, not bake. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was looking for a chocolate pie that didn't use cool whip or pudding and this was great. My butter (???) oozed out of the filling though and just sat around the edges of the crust. It was yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is not a recipe for first-time bakers. If you have never made meringue before, then take some time to look up tips (for example the glass bowl is a must). Also, if you have never made a chocolate cake before then note that you should mix your dry ingredients first, stir constantly, and be patient with the mixture getting thick. As someone who has never made chocolate pie before I found the recipe a bit vague. My first pie did not set because I didn't allow the chocolate mixture to thicken enough, but the second one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious! I love how it uses inexpensive ingredients that I already have in my pantry. The chocolate taste is just right, not too sweet and not too bitter either. Everyone who tasted this pie raved about it! I did not prepare the meringue topping, just topped it with whipped cream instead. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this for Christmas. My meringue shrank quite a bit. You should perhaps make the meringue before the filling is done.. The filling was delicious, but perhaps I didn't cook it long enough, because it was not as firm as I would have preferred. Delicious flavors, but not great set up. It could be my lack of experience though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent Thanksgiving treat! The only change I made was to use Splenda Blend instead of sugar, following the conversion chart on the Splenda bag for amount to equal 1 1/3 cup regular sugar. Well, I also went the Cool Whip route instead of meringue based on preference of my "audience," but the chocolate base of this recipe is fantastic. My only qualm was that the recipe gives no indication of time needed to thicken the chocolate mix or bake. I estimated that it took 6-7 minutes for the chocolate to thicken, and I didn't bake for more than 15 minutes (had no meringue to brown so no real visual cue for when it was done). Another reviewer had an excellent tip, to use a handmixer to mix in the butter and really smooth out the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I tried out this recipe with no modifications. When I cooked the pie filling in a saucepan, I stirred constantly, cooked it on a medium-low flame and achieved a beautiful non-lumpy mixture. I had no problems with the meringue (although 6TB sugar is way way too sweet, 3 or 4 will be much better). The problem is, the pie never set. It baked about 20 or 25 min at 325 and even though I knew it was still liquid, the meringue was clearly done. The pie filling itself is way too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Honestly, just too much sugar. I'm not going to give up on it though. Next time, I'm going to 1) cut back on the sugar both on the meringue and the pie filling and 2) use cornstarch to thicken the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States