Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! My boyfriend was always talking about how his grandmother made this amazing chocolate meringue pie, but he didn't have a recipe. He missed it, so I found this one, and he loved it! He even helped me make it, and he felt very accomplished. Thanks for a great recipe with easy to follow instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was just OK. I made it since I had all of the ingredients on hand and wanted something sweet. It set nicely. There are just too many other desserts to try anew rather than repeating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was WAY too sweet. I couldn't even finish my first piece. I agree with other reviewers, cut the sugar back and it would be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious and very easy to make. The pie is perfect and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Angelina Milanés-Kirks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This pie was absolutely amazing. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used half and half instead, and it still turned out delicious. I had to cook it longer than 10 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've made this wonderful pie many times and it's fantastic! I make it exactly like the recipe says, but somehow I usually end up forgetting to add the butter after the filling has cooked but it comes out perfect every time, with and without the butter. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Medium heat for 15 minutes is far too long and hot and made it too fudgy. next time i will change that part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
awsome pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great Recipe! I followed almost exactly and it came out perfectly. The only change I made was I used 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar( I am in a really humid region). I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I've been looking for the *perfect* chocolate pie forever and this wasn't quite it. I think, though, with a reduction of the sugar it might be. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The custard was thick and creamy, just the way I like it, but it was wayyyy too sweet. I would definitely reduce the amount of sugar next time. I do think it is a matter of personal preference though as I like a more dark chocolate flavor as opposed to milk chocolate. I'll try it with a cup of sugar only next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States