Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this pie twice with a day in between. The first time it didn't set at all and the butter separated; it was goop. So, I threw it out. The second time it kind of set, but not really, after cooking it longer but the butter still separated and it didn't taste good. So, I threw it out. I followed the recipe exactly each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a delicious pie, it looked beautiful, and it was super rich. I did cut 1/3 cup of sugar and added 1/3 cup of chocolate, and it was plenty sweet and smooth. However, you do need to sift the dry ingredients, and I had to use a spatula to scrape the saucepan as well as a whisk, because the custard thickened and began to clump really quick. But as long as you are vigilant, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I decided at the very last minute to make this pie. Hence I ran around like a headless chook trying to make a pastry case from scratch (which was a huge success), cook the chocolate, beat the meringue, cook rice and a curry for dinner! Fortunately, this simple recipe led to the most decadent and delicious chocolate pie which I'm sure will become a regular. Also, I only used 1 cup sugar in the filling. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So easy. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This turned out perfect!! ?? Taste like my Grandma's, which is hard to come by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I've made pudding this way all my life, and I'm 74. A long time ago, I found it easier if you use a double boiler. Or, be patient, turn that burner down. If your are scorching you have your burner too hot. The double boiler saves a lot of frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have been using this receipt for several years, but I have learned a few tricks and I'll share them with the other viewers. First of all, I use Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa and I use salted butter to compliment the sweet. Next, once I have sifted the flour and the cocoa, I also mix in the sugar prior to putting the mixture in the pot that I will prepare the custard in. My secret for NEVER having lumpy or scorched custard is, I always use a double boiler to prepare my custard filling. This method will result in a velvety smooth custard. A small tip on preparing great meringue, is to use the largest bowl you have to whip the whites and use a hand mixer when preparing the meringue. Also, make sure that your egg whites are room temperature and add the sugar in small amounts once your meringue starts to rise and then add cream of tartar as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! My boyfriend was always talking about how his grandmother made this amazing chocolate meringue pie, but he didn't have a recipe. He missed it, so I found this one, and he loved it! He even helped me make it, and he felt very accomplished. Thanks for a great recipe with easy to follow instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was just OK. I made it since I had all of the ingredients on hand and wanted something sweet. It set nicely. There are just too many other desserts to try anew rather than repeating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was WAY too sweet. I couldn't even finish my first piece. I agree with other reviewers, cut the sugar back and it would be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States