Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I've made pudding this way all my life, and I'm 74. A long time ago, I found it easier if you use a double boiler. Or, be patient, turn that burner down. If your are scorching you have your burner too hot. The double boiler saves a lot of frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have been using this receipt for several years, but I have learned a few tricks and I'll share them with the other viewers. First of all, I use Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa and I use salted butter to compliment the sweet. Next, once I have sifted the flour and the cocoa, I also mix in the sugar prior to putting the mixture in the pot that I will prepare the custard in. My secret for NEVER having lumpy or scorched custard is, I always use a double boiler to prepare my custard filling. This method will result in a velvety smooth custard. A small tip on preparing great meringue, is to use the largest bowl you have to whip the whites and use a hand mixer when preparing the meringue. Also, make sure that your egg whites are room temperature and add the sugar in small amounts once your meringue starts to rise and then add cream of tartar as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! My boyfriend was always talking about how his grandmother made this amazing chocolate meringue pie, but he didn't have a recipe. He missed it, so I found this one, and he loved it! He even helped me make it, and he felt very accomplished. Thanks for a great recipe with easy to follow instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was just OK. I made it since I had all of the ingredients on hand and wanted something sweet. It set nicely. There are just too many other desserts to try anew rather than repeating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was WAY too sweet. I couldn't even finish my first piece. I agree with other reviewers, cut the sugar back and it would be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious and very easy to make. The pie is perfect and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This pie was absolutely amazing. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used half and half instead, and it still turned out delicious. I had to cook it longer than 10 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've made this wonderful pie many times and it's fantastic! I make it exactly like the recipe says, but somehow I usually end up forgetting to add the butter after the filling has cooked but it comes out perfect every time, with and without the butter. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Medium heat for 15 minutes is far too long and hot and made it too fudgy. next time i will change that part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
awsome pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States