Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I actually made a double recipe of this pie using Splenda instead of sugar and even the meringue turned out great. I think my Dad ate the pie in less than one day and then wanted the recipe. One thing I learned (and maybe it's just the case with Splenda substituted) is that using a nonstick skillet is much better than a saucepan. Even with me constantly stirring, it scorched on two different pans and then did great when I finally moved to the nonstick pan. One note: If you are subbing Splenda for sugar, you may wish to reduce the Splenda amount slightly from what is called for in sugar quantity - Splenda tends to turn out a little sweeter than sugar. Great recipe - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe is perfect the way it is! First attempt, I followed other's advice and used 1/3 cup cocoa and omitted the extra 1/3 cup sugar. The pie tasted allright, but had lots of cocoa lumps and wasn't really presentable. Second time around I made it according to original recipe and also sifted all dry ingredients - not only was it beautiful, it was delicious (and we didn't think it was overly sweet like others did)! SO, my advice is to stick with the recipe as is!! (only thing different I did use Emeril's recipe for meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Bullseye! This is a fantastic recipe. The chocolate and sweetness are perfectly balanced. Lumps have always been a major problem with my chocolate pies. Some tips I used to avoid unsightly lumpiness (which is inevitable with recipes like this) was to sift the dry ingredients together, stir the liquid mixture constantly and then strain out smaller lumps as it begins to thicken on the stove. The egg proteins will cause some lumps as they cook -- and espcially as you scrape the bottom of the sauce pan with the flat bottom spoon. Fortunately, they smooth right out after adding the butter with a little help from the handheld mixer. My end result was a perfectly firm, but creamy smooth texture and a delicious flavor. Thanks for submitting this recipe. Reminds me of Mom's chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
A very sinfully delicious pie.. Hint: The longer you cook the filling, the thicker and fudgier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Whoever gives this pie less than 5 stars has made a mistake in preparing the pie. The texture is creamy and it is not too sweet. I have been searching for years for a recipe that would rival my mothers'cooks recipe and I have finally found it. The only exception is that Mom's cook used REAL whipped cream (not sweetened with any sugar) instead of meringue.OUTSTANDING. Also,be prepared to sit or stand awhile and stir the filling on the stove while it thickens up. Towards the end you might want to have a whisk handy to avoid any lumps.THIS IS A TRUE SOUTHERN RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Very good and extremely easy! I like the meringue topping, but my kids prefer a whipped topping. Beat 1 c. heavy cream until soft peaks form then add 1/4-1/2 c. confectioners' sugar and vanilla if you like - top with this and it is a sweeter treat - great with coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I tried out this recipe with no modifications. When I cooked the pie filling in a saucepan, I stirred constantly, cooked it on a medium-low flame and achieved a beautiful non-lumpy mixture. I had no problems with the meringue (although 6TB sugar is way way too sweet, 3 or 4 will be much better). The problem is, the pie never set. It baked about 20 or 25 min at 325 and even though I knew it was still liquid, the meringue was clearly done. The pie filling itself is way too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Honestly, just too much sugar. I'm not going to give up on it though. Next time, I'm going to 1) cut back on the sugar both on the meringue and the pie filling and 2) use cornstarch to thicken the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is the best chocolate pie recipe! I have been making the same chocolate pie recipe for over 10 years and this one tops it. This is now the staple for my pies. You can't go wrong with this recipe-its so easy to follow and turned out perfect with no lumping. Thanks for sharing this one Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I've made this pie several times just in the last two weeks and it's absolutely perfect. The best chocolate flavor, almost a light fudge flavor. I skipped the meringue topping the last time and did cool whip. Highly recommend this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for and the whole family said to not change a thing about what I'd done. So, what did I do? Per many other reviews saying it was too sweet, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I cooked the filling on 4 (on a 1 to 8 dial) for exactly seven minutes, stirring constantly with a flathead wooden spoon, scraping the bottom where the filling wants to thicken up. Then, to fight these lumps from the bottom, when I pulled it from the heat, I used a wire whisk to stir in the butter which I had set out before I began so it would get soft. With the wire whisk I was able to create a completely consistent filling. I poured the filling in into my crust which I had cooked for ten minutes in the 325 degree oven. Then, and this is a time the original recipe doesn't give since it uses visual cues to judge, I cooked the pie for exactly 24 minutes also at 325 degrees. I cooked it with just the chocolate filling because I prefer whipped cream to meringue. Then I cooled it in the refrigerator over night. It had a perfect texture and a mild chocolate flavor that went great with the crispy flour crust and the sweet whipped cream. My mother, father and brother all talked about how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States