Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband said this was a "sticky" chocolate pie. He must prefer a pudding like chocolate pie. If that is what your looking for, this is not the recipe. This recipe is very rich and fudge like. With that said I gave it a 3 because my kids loved it. If your looking for rich and fudge like, here it is. This was very easy to make. I took the other reviewers advice and added a couple extra teaspoons of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I consider myself to be a pretty good cook and have made numerous recipes from this site and others but, this pie was horrible! The consistency was far from velvet and the flavor was not good. In my opinion, if you're looking for an easy chocolate pie stick with the good old-fashioned pudding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was a hit. I will made it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This pie is so good the only thing I changed was I added I tsp of vanilla and used whip topping and a store bought crust wow so good thank you I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca_laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This pie is rich and wonderful. I have made it a few times now and it is my husbands favorite. My tip would be to cook the filling until it is like thick pudding - that is the way I like it. My husband likes it cooled in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My family LOVES this recipe. My 2 yr old tries to claim the whole thing as his own! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was a great pie. Excellent chocolate flavor. Rich and chocolately. I will make this again. This was pudding like rather than fudgey. We loved this! I used 4 eggs, since I had that many to use for the meringue. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. My husband even asked me to make this for the holiday table. It's a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
For a chocolate connoisseur, this recipe is too sweet and sugary. While my chocolate came out smooth, it reeked of sugar. I was only able to purchase hershey's unsweeted chocolate, which contributed to the sweetness. I hope to try this recipe again, but with Belgian dark chocolate, less sugar, and a layer of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I generally *love* sweet things...but this pie was way too sweet and way too rich. My boyfriend agreed and said that it reminded him of fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!! This is delicious. I used about 1/3 cup cocoa and only approx 1 cup sugar, per some previous review suggestions. I also didn't have any evaporated milk, so I just used about 10 oz of 1% milk instead. It worked out great! I just kept cooking and stirring until it was very thick and fudge-like. Wonderful chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States