Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is woefully incomplete. I believe a step is missing, because the merengue browned WAY before the filling was set. It also doesn't say how long it's supposed to cool or whether it's supposed to be chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoiseBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was really great!! It was the first pie that I had ever made from scratch, and it turned out perfect. It had that old school chocolate pie taste that I had been longing for. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Chocolate pie has always been my kryptonite, until I found this recipe. Now my chocolate pies come out as good as my grandma's use to. I've never been happier with a recipe. This is one I will keep forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I really liked this. The filling was a little sweet IMO, but all in all a great recipe and easy, too. I thought it "finally" set once it hit the fridge overnight, and was even thicker on day two (small household), but I didn't think it was thick enough after being made and cooled on a wire rack. It's a plan ahead deal. I have always LOVED chocolate pie and this was my first attempt at making it. I would use this recipe again and would also still continue to try others. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Best chocolate pie I've ever made! I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as someone suggested....1 added 1 Tbl spoon of marshallow cream to the meringue which I was taught by a lady at Church. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is first time I tried making this pie. It turned out awesome!!! I made it with granulated splenda and it was just perfect. I used just the same amount of splenda as the sugar required in the original recipe. I increased a amount of cream of tartar to 3/4 teaspoon and it turned out good. EASY & AWESOME!!! Will make more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Excellent! I even made a batch of the filling to fill my cream puffs, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for and the whole family said to not change a thing about what I'd done. So, what did I do? Per many other reviews saying it was too sweet, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I cooked the filling on 4 (on a 1 to 8 dial) for exactly seven minutes, stirring constantly with a flathead wooden spoon, scraping the bottom where the filling wants to thicken up. Then, to fight these lumps from the bottom, when I pulled it from the heat, I used a wire whisk to stir in the butter which I had set out before I began so it would get soft. With the wire whisk I was able to create a completely consistent filling. I poured the filling in into my crust which I had cooked for ten minutes in the 325 degree oven. Then, and this is a time the original recipe doesn't give since it uses visual cues to judge, I cooked the pie for exactly 24 minutes also at 325 degrees. I cooked it with just the chocolate filling because I prefer whipped cream to meringue. Then I cooled it in the refrigerator over night. It had a perfect texture and a mild chocolate flavor that went great with the crispy flour crust and the sweet whipped cream. My mother, father and brother all talked about how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've made this pie numerous times for many occasions and family gatherings and have received nothing but fantastic reviews. I have always followed the original recipe, and have always used a mixer when I add the butter and my filling has never been lumpy. As for the filling setting, never a problem, I've never had a problem with it scorching either. It's a fantastic recipe! Noone has ever asked me for the recipe, just the pies!!! If I see someone somewhere they will ask me where their pie is, I guess everyone I know just likes to eat, not bake. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was looking for a chocolate pie that didn't use cool whip or pudding and this was great. My butter (???) oozed out of the filling though and just sat around the edges of the crust. It was yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States