Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious and very easy to make. The pie is perfect and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Angelina Milanés-Kirks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This pie was absolutely amazing. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used half and half instead, and it still turned out delicious. I had to cook it longer than 10 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've made this wonderful pie many times and it's fantastic! I make it exactly like the recipe says, but somehow I usually end up forgetting to add the butter after the filling has cooked but it comes out perfect every time, with and without the butter. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Medium heat for 15 minutes is far too long and hot and made it too fudgy. next time i will change that part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
awsome pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great Recipe! I followed almost exactly and it came out perfectly. The only change I made was I used 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar( I am in a really humid region). I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I've been looking for the *perfect* chocolate pie forever and this wasn't quite it. I think, though, with a reduction of the sugar it might be. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The custard was thick and creamy, just the way I like it, but it was wayyyy too sweet. I would definitely reduce the amount of sugar next time. I do think it is a matter of personal preference though as I like a more dark chocolate flavor as opposed to milk chocolate. I'll try it with a cup of sugar only next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
The pie is really easy to make with ingredients already on hand. It is so fudgey tasting and certainly recommend this. I have never had meringue turn out so we used Lite Cool Whip instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Fantastic recipe!! My family raved about it. I, however, am the only one in my family that likes meringue so I used Dream Whip on top. It is very rich and creamy and I will never use another recipe again. Thanks Becky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palestine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I have not tried this recipe because I know how good it is. This is the way my mother always made chocolate pie. It is absolutely my most favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States