Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHAMMON
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Easy, few and very basic ingredients, and was very good. Set up beautifully. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMMON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I loved this pie! Almost like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Had to put through strainer to make perfectly smooth. Excellent pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Not sure why but the pudding for this pie never set up. It was like thick fudge sauce. The flavor was fine though a bit sweet for my taste and the meringue was just right for a cream pie. Probable will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this pie twice with a day in between. The first time it didn't set at all and the butter separated. The second time it kind of set, but not really, after cooking it longer but the butter still separated and it didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a delicious pie, it looked beautiful, and it was super rich. I did cut 1/3 cup of sugar and added 1/3 cup of chocolate, and it was plenty sweet and smooth. However, you do need to sift the dry ingredients, and I had to use a spatula to scrape the saucepan as well as a whisk, because the custard thickened and began to clump really quick. But as long as you are vigilant, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I decided at the very last minute to make this pie. Hence I ran around like a headless chook trying to make a pastry case from scratch (which was a huge success), cook the chocolate, beat the meringue, cook rice and a curry for dinner! Fortunately, this simple recipe led to the most decadent and delicious chocolate pie which I'm sure will become a regular. Also, I only used 1 cup sugar in the filling. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So easy. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This turned out perfect!! ?? Taste like my Grandma's, which is hard to come by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I've made pudding this way all my life, and I'm 74. A long time ago, I found it easier if you use a double boiler. Or, be patient, turn that burner down. If your are scorching you have your burner too hot. The double boiler saves a lot of frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States