Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I cut this recipie in half (only had one egg in the house), kept the original amount of filling and added 1/2 a block of cream cheese. It came out DELICIOUS! Gone in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Really yummy! Not too sweet. I used a whole almond for the "baby." I will make this as a coffee cake through the year. I cut the recipe in half, as there are only 3 of us, and it's keeping nicely in my covered cake dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Just made this and it was delicious! I made one with the cinamon and sugar filling but added the cream cheese filling that was suggested in another review. In the other I put the cream cheese filling and a strawberry filling. I also prepared the dough in my breadmaker and it turned out perfect. I did let it rise in a bowl though cause I knew my breadmaker wouldn't be big enough. In fact I had to help it mix a little bit since there was a lot of dough in there and it had trouble mixing the top portion, but it kneaded fine. I did not add the nuts and raisins because those are not typical king cake ingredients. I'm a Louisianian so I am even more impressed with this recipe because I have had many, many king cakes and this is the best one I have had and my hubby agreed! I also cooked it at 350 for about 20 minutes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I halved the recipe and made it in the bread machine. I omitted raisins in the filling. The dough came out very sticky, but rolled out very thin. It was so thin that the filling broke through! I made so many mistakes: 1. Keep the rectangle of dough THICK when you roll it out. 2. Don't put filling for the last few inches on the dough, or else it will seep out while baking. 3. Don't let the cake rise before baking or it will flatten out. 4. Bake for 20 min at 335 degrees, and it should come out good. It tasted very good, but I need to work on its appearnance. I forgot to cut slits in it, but if I did it would have been even messier. I also did not use a baby. Since we ate it for breakfast, I left off the icing. In the end, it wasn't really a king cake, but was still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Excellent- chewy and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I've made this for several years now. The only things keeping this from being a 5 star recipe (in my opinion) are the baking time and the glaze. First, I checked my first cake when there were 14 minutes left on the timer. It already looked done, but I knew the filling wouldn't be. This is when I remembered having to watch it very closely the other times. I took it out after 23 minutes and it was actually a little darker than I wanted. My second cake was completely baked in 20 minutes. I do have an oven thermometer, so I know my temp is correct. Second, the glaze/frosting recipe is way off. You'll have to add way more than 1 TBSP of water to make this work, then there is only enough to cover one cake (unless you only want a tiny bit on each one.) I ended up almost doubling the frosting recipe in order tohave enough for both cakes. Filling is a matter of preference. I've used the included recipe with raisins and without. I've also used a cream cheese and cherry filling and a whipped chocolate filling. I generally do have to add a good bit of extra flour to make the dough "come together," but the dough is a dream to work with when it's finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have several different variations of this recipe, and while they are all great, I really like this one best. What you use for the filling is a matter of personal preference. I'm not particularly a raisin fan, but I did use golden raisins in the filling for this recipe, and everyone LOVED the cake (myself included). This is a wonderful recipe, and not at all difficult, it just takes a bit of time. This makes two large rings---one to serve and one to give. Do try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this for the first time and it came out amazing. This was my first attempt using yeast. The "bread" cake is delicious and it makes a great presentation. It will definitely become a tradition in our home. I used raisins, dried cranberries, walnuts and apricot preserves to the filling. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This cake/bread was fantastic. I just made it for Mardi Gras. The whole family just loved it! I would definitely make it again. I read the review about raisins not belonging in King Cake and left them out, but I'm going to add them next time as I like raisins. the frosting seems plain, but it was the perfect addition to the cake. I highly recommend this King Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allisonperson
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I added extra brown sugar and butter to the filling and did not add the nuts and raisins. I made my own sugars with regular granulated sugar and food coloring. Gotta get that sugar on there quick, cause the powdered sugar glaze dries fast! Not sure if I made the cuts the way they are supposed to be, but they ARE NECESSARY because first time around I forgot to do it; it was still edible but looked terrible. These two came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allisonperson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States