Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this the first time according to the recipe except without nuts and soaking raisins in boiling water for 20 min prior to use. The second time I turned it into cinnamon rolls. It made 16 rolls. Taking away the 4 end rolls, the remaining twelve fit perfectly into a greased 9x13 pan. The other four fit into individual ramekins. I baked it for 350 for about 30 minutes, until even the center rolls were golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
One if the best things I've ever eaten in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
First my modifications (strictly for my taste preferences - it baked fine as written): I cut the nutmeg in half, I also cut the butter in the filling in half, and left out the raisins. Second a suggestion: Leave off the icing, let it sit for a day or two (the hardest part) so it gets a little stale, then make french toast out of it. Yummy! If you are planning to do this I would recommend not forming it into a ring, it is easier to slice if straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe made a beautiful king cake. It was really delicious, but I'd probably use less nutmeg as I found it a bit strong, but that's just a personal taste - otherwise I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was my first King Cake and I loved it. Perhaps not the most traditional, but yummy. I substituted oatmeal for the pecans (didn't have any on hand and didn't want to pay $10 lb to get any lol) and upped the butter a little bit to make up for it. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yummy. I was a little homesick so I made this to remind me of home. Turned o ut great, followed the directions as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marisa123
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Really easy, good, and fun to make and I already made the cake twice in one week:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoInPC
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I did a couple of practice runs before the big day--Fat Tuesday--and tried several of the variations people suggested. One tip on adding a cream cheese mixture: this turns out much better if you contain the cream cheese in one band towards the beginning end of your rolling of the dough. I had some issues with it seeping out during baking when I tried spreading it over the entire dough rectangle. Also, don't snip the cakes with cream cheese filling (or at the most just give the dough some tiny slices with a sharp knife and don't cut in as far); it looks prettier without the seeping filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a delicious cake! Thank you for sharing. The one thing I have to change for next year is not to leave it in the oven for that long. The cake only needed about 15-20 minutes in my oven. I'm glad I was watching it or it would have burned. Thank you so much for sharing! It was a hit at my Mardi Gras party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! Made one ring as directed and one with apples instead of pecans, since my mother can't have the nuts. Both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States