Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
THIS IS GOOD. MAKE IT. Iv'e never made king cake... never made brioche... Needed enough to serve 75 at my nursing home. yikes? NOPE! ZOMG this is good! Iv'e always had store bought which I now understand is a DISGRACE! I'm quite pleased with myself! -- Be sure to wrap it well, or your filling will spill out..... but if you mess this up anyways, eat the brown sugar/raisin brittle creation on the pan... cause it's freakin good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delish! I made this festive treat for a little dinner party. I cut the recipe in half to make one cake. I made the dough in my KA, super easy! Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh nutmeg so I upped the quantity a little using the pre-ground stuff. I also beat a bar of softened cream cheese in with the filling ingredients and spread the entire mix on the dough and then rolled it up. After 20 minutes, the cake was getting too brown so I covered it with foil for the rest of the baking time. I did skip hiding the plastic toy. Many of my guests had another piece of this tasty dessert! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was awesome! I've never had a traditional King Cake before, so I can't judge how authentic it tastes, but I CAN say that it's pretty darn delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception. I didn't have any raisins or nuts on hand, so I left those out. This baked through in about 18 minutes (no where near 30!), and the filling was wonderfully gooey and rich. I agree with some of the other reviewers...this would make a great breakfast bread! I can't wait to make this again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie.kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully and was well received by my children's classmates! A few notes of caution to those who rated it as "too dry" - that is operator error, not recipe error (sorry!) Follow the instructions PRECISELY. You must ensure that the yeast is dissolved in the right temperature of water for at least 10 minutes. You'll know that it's proper when it appears to be foamy on top. You also have to ensure that you scald the milk properly - don't let it boil and stir it constantly. These two factors will greatly decrease your chances of having a dry cake. Oil the dough as directed too and another tip - when you remove the cakes from the oven, ice them and immediately cover them with aluminum foil to keep in the moisture (unless you are serving it right away). Also - if you don't like raisins or nuts - this recipe allows for other fillings (though we love the raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar!) Now - no more nay sayers and bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I cut nutmeg in half, made a bit more filling, and baked at 335 for 25 minutes. Used canned cream cheese frosting & colored sugar i bought. They were great. I also made some with a strawberry cream cheese filling: 1 brick cream cheese, 1/2 c powder sugar, and 1 cup diced fresh strawberry. Those were better!! But I'm not sure how many days those should stay at room temp. It seems the cheese would spoil so we ate those first. Tips, I cut off excess dough around edge before rolling. When making the ring, I sealed & made it prettier with a twisted ring of excess dough and put the baby there after baking. Oh and you can also divide dough in 4 and make smaller loaves if u like. Just bake 2 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this was ok, but more bready than king cake should be. king cake is fluffier and more pastry like. the filling is fine. if you are looking for authentic style king cake, i wouldn't go for this one. true, king cake recipes vary depending on region of Louisiana and family, but this one is not at all to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a very good, easy to follow recipe. The only ingredient changes I made were omitting raisins (not an authentic king cake addition) and a slight reduction in the nutmeg (I used regular ground), which I am glad I did. I did bake it at a slightly lower temp (330) for 25 minutes, also. I'm a Louisiana girl, and this is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I have rated this recipe before. But, not reviewed . . . it is a very good recipe--best dough recipe that I've found. Easy to half . . . as most won't need two cakes. I have taken out the raisins and nuts to keep it more authentic. I also used a different cream cheese and icing recipe. I HIGHLY recommend using Rapid Rise yeast as it will cut out the FIRST proof of 2 hours. Basically cutting recipe time in half! Just follow direction on yeast pack -- it's a 10 minute rest after kneading instead of 2 hours . . . Will be making a few soon for friends and family!!! Happy Mardi Gras from BR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Rating even before trying., Just made a King Cake yesterday adapting two recipes from allrecipes.com, loved it! Reason I am rating this is because I like the sound of the filling use here Jo. Already planning one with raisins...but going to put the raisins in my dough., But will def. use your filling idea. One note...folks these are SWEET coffee cakes...the glaze and sprinkles make it over the top...so you can go easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States