Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe is perfect as written. Im sure it would be great to add the cream cheese filling but the recipe is still wonderfull and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
i had such high hopes for this with all the great reviews. I'm from New Orleans, so I guess that was too much to expect. FOund it to be bland and too "yeasty."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was very good, although I left out the raisins. I would recommend decreasing the baking time or temperature, as mine turned out a little too well done & brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Great cake! We added some vanilla, milk, and butter to the icing to give it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe was spot on for times, temps and measurements. Really enjoyed the texture and flavor of the dough. I did add 1 tsp each of lemon zest and orange zest to the dough for personal preference. Really enjoyed the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMASTONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallstead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camptown
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I had never made a King Cake before. I was surprised this recipe is so similar to my cinnamon roll recipe. So, a King Cake is basically a giant cinnamon roll! This really was a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camptown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this the first time according to the recipe except without nuts and soaking raisins in boiling water for 20 min prior to use. The second time I turned it into cinnamon rolls. It made 16 rolls. Taking away the 4 end rolls, the remaining twelve fit perfectly into a greased 9x13 pan. The other four fit into individual ramekins. I baked it for 350 for about 30 minutes, until even the center rolls were golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
One if the best things I've ever eaten in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
First my modifications (strictly for my taste preferences - it baked fine as written): I cut the nutmeg in half, I also cut the butter in the filling in half, and left out the raisins. Second a suggestion: Leave off the icing, let it sit for a day or two (the hardest part) so it gets a little stale, then make french toast out of it. Yummy! If you are planning to do this I would recommend not forming it into a ring, it is easier to slice if straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe made a beautiful king cake. It was really delicious, but I'd probably use less nutmeg as I found it a bit strong, but that's just a personal taste - otherwise I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States