Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Hold the raisins and the nuts, please. I like just a plain cinnamon filling. Great recipe. King cakes are very time consuming to make, but worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lukearrington
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
it took more work than i originally thought, but totally worth it! I combined this recipe (dough and baking time) with one on bon appetit (custard filling and icing) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Well... its still in the rising stage but I wanted to make a note for the filling! I have some cafe du monde coffee I was drinking from New Orleans and I decided to pour some in with the brown sugar. Needed to add some more flour but... tasted oh so delicious! I dont know why I havent done it before, but just cause you moved away from New Orleans doesn't mean you cant take the cooking with you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This King Cake recipe is very authentic. Having grown up in the City where it all began, I think I can say that King cakes have RAISANS in them..........LOL But only if that is the one you chose to make. You can skip the cinnamon raisan filling and put cherry pie filling, lemon pie filling......whatever you can think to put in it......it's always great. Just don't put too much. Thin layer. I use this recipe and it always is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is probably the best king cake i've ever had! I made on last night and it tastes just like home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenalynn
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Pleasantly surprised!! I knew I was going to use my bread machine, so I halved the recipe, so that it would fit. I didn't use raisins in the filling. I love raisins, but they have NO place in a king cake. :) The filling was really good, but it was a bit much. If you're from South Louisiana, like me, and want a traditional cinnamon king cake, I would suggest using a mix of 1/3 c white sugar and 1 T. cinnamon (or 2/3 c sugar and 2 T. cinnamon if you make the full recipe). And to me, king cake icing is equally, if not MORE important than the dough, so I am SO thankful to the reviewers who suggested using lemon juice to hide that funky taste that you get in powdered sugar. I loved this icing recipe from one reviewer: 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 T. butter melted, 1 t. clear vanilla, 1 t. lemon juice, 3 T. milk (plus add extra milk as needed to get to the right consistency.) It was PERFECT king cake icing. The full recipe, will make 2 regular-size king cakes, which could serve 20-30, depending on how you slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Will be making this again. Just enough cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was asked to make this for our Church School Epiphany party. Never having made one before, and seeing MANY variations of opinions on the temperature of the oven as well as cooking time, I decided to do a "dry run" before the date of the party. I used the dough recipe exactly as printed, didn't change a thing. For the filling, I eliminated the nuts and raisins because of allergies. So the filling was just a brown sugar cinnamon mixture with a little flour and butter but it was very very good. I divided the dough in half as instructed and baked the first one at 335 as MANY people recommended, and set the timer on 15 minutes as a starting point. It was not browned on top yet so I set it for 5 more minutes, then it needed 5 more. I took it out at that point, it was lightly browned and smelled wonderful. However, after I cut into it, I found the inside dough to be just a little gooey. It stayed that way even after it cooled completely. The second one I used 350 and started checking it at 20 minutes. It needed almost 10 minutes more but the middle was cooked a lot better. I guess you just have to know your oven, and keep a REALLY close watch on it. The cake was amazing, tasted like a giant Cinnabon. Our local Cinnabon closed, so I have not had one in awhile. YUM. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was my first time making a King Cake. I did not use a bread maker and it was pretty simple to make and very delicious! I subsituted apple sauce for the butter in both the pastry and the filling. I would definitely recommend frosting while warm so that some of the icing soaks into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is now my go to recipe for King Cake. It was so pretty and it sure didn't last long. I served it with gumbo at my Mardi Gras party. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States