Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have family in the south. This is a big deal to them! Now I know how to make it! I live in Boulder Colorado and we really don't celebrate. (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I rarely give such a low rating, but after the amount of work that went into this, I was very disappointed when I checked the first cake with 5 minutes left to bake, and the outer surface was burned beyond being edible. I followed all other instructions to a tee, but something was clearly off. Guess I'll hope the second cake goes better- I'll certainly check it sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this as written once and it was OK. Made it again with a few changes and it was the best king cake I've ever eaten! -The second time, I made half the recipe, only one cake. -I accidentally dropped about a tsp of nutmeg into the dough but it tasted better like that than the original amount. -I spread 8 oz. of cream cheese before the pecan filling, which I doubled (used the same amount as would be used for 2 cakes), and substituted dried cranberries for raisins. -I baked it at 340F for about 35 minutes. -I also made a cream cheese glaze with regular granulated sugar dissolved in a few tablespoons of water because I was out of confectioners sugar. With these changes, it is a 5 star recipe. As written, it's a 3. The dough is quite good, just needs more filling. Careful! not to over-cook. It will dry it out and it won't be and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The bread was perfect! This was my first try at a King Cake and it came out sooooo good. I let the dough rise in the microwave with a cup of hot water sitting to the side, idk if that really helped but this dough was so fluffy and soft, and even better the next day. On one cake I did the butter, cinnamon/brown sugar, and on the other I did half cream cheese, half strawberry pie filling mixed with cream cheese. The plain cinnamon/sugar was great and the strawberry cream cheese was rocking' too. I made the frosting like a few others posted: 2 1/2 C powdered sugar, 1 T butter, a little vanilla, and lemon juice and milk. I live in BR and this was my first king Cake of the season... it's gonna be tough to beat! So excited I know how to make a king cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have been an allrecipes lurker for years and i really felt that i had to rate this recipe because it is AWESOME!. I make this all the time and vary the filling to suit the occasion. I even use this dough for cinnamon buns! Also, if you find that you don't have the time to do it all at once, you can let it do it's second rise in the fridge over night. The dough wont be as airy but its still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This ended up tasting okay, pretty authentic, but dried out quickly and was not worth the fuss. I cut the recipe in half, because I only needed one cake! The dough was much too sticky and very frustrating to work with. It tore when I rolled it up with the filling, which I made with just butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Even though I tried to patch it, some of the filling leaked out while baking. I read other reviews first and knew the baking time was too long, but forgot to check the cake early, so it got too browned on top. Also, the icing recipe made very little, so it was only drizzled on the cake. I'll be going back to my old recipe next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PHRANC
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a pretty easy recipe to follow. I dyed my sugars and roasted the pecans. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I halved it for 8 servings since we are all giving up sweets for Lent and I didn't want extra for Ash Wednesday. Used applesauce in the dough instead of butter and applesauce in the filling instead of butter too. Can't beleive how moist and delish it turned out! Used skim milk for dough and glaze, too! Granted, it's alot of sugar but almost no fat! Didn't take the time to proof the yeast, just through all the indregients for the dough in my KitchenAid with the dough hook and whala! Beautiful! Thanks so much for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was my first King Cake. The recipe was great! I took it to work and it was highly praised. A long time New Orleans resident said that it looked and tasted authentic. This is a definite repeater for me. I did use too many eggs accidentally, but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'm pretty disappointed. I made a great King Cake last year and hoped that this was the recipe I used. Sadly, I don't think it was. The flavor of the dough and filling were just okay. I left out the raisins in the filling, because I just don't associate raisins and King Cake. Then, I added the sugar frosting following the recipe as is...blech! I think it ruined the whole thing. I should have added a little lemon juice or maybe a touch of vanilla extract to brighten it up. I'm hoping it will pass as okay at my Fat Tuesday celebration tomorrow, but in the end I may not even bring it. If I were to use this recipe again I might add another tablespoon or two of butter to the dough and an extra 1/2 tsp of salt. I would also add either lemon juice or vanilla extract to the frosting for more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States