Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was asked to make this for our Church School Epiphany party. Never having made one before, and seeing MANY variations of opinions on the temperature of the oven as well as cooking time, I decided to do a "dry run" before the date of the party. I used the dough recipe exactly as printed, didn't change a thing. For the filling, I eliminated the nuts and raisins because of allergies. So the filling was just a brown sugar cinnamon mixture with a little flour and butter but it was very very good. I divided the dough in half as instructed and baked the first one at 335 as MANY people recommended, and set the timer on 15 minutes as a starting point. It was not browned on top yet so I set it for 5 more minutes, then it needed 5 more. I took it out at that point, it was lightly browned and smelled wonderful. However, after I cut into it, I found the inside dough to be just a little gooey. It stayed that way even after it cooled completely. The second one I used 350 and started checking it at 20 minutes. It needed almost 10 minutes more but the middle was cooked a lot better. I guess you just have to know your oven, and keep a REALLY close watch on it. The cake was amazing, tasted like a giant Cinnabon. Our local Cinnabon closed, so I have not had one in awhile. YUM. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was my first time making a King Cake. I did not use a bread maker and it was pretty simple to make and very delicious! I subsituted apple sauce for the butter in both the pastry and the filling. I would definitely recommend frosting while warm so that some of the icing soaks into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is now my go to recipe for King Cake. It was so pretty and it sure didn't last long. I served it with gumbo at my Mardi Gras party. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this according to recipe. It was ok, but had a "yeasty" taste. Looked great....but don't think I will go to the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I was in charge of supplying a king cake for Mardi Gras this year at work, and felt like trying to make one rather than drive across town to get one from the bakery (which I thought was nothing special). Normally the king cake stays around all day at my work, but this one was gone within a couple of hours, and people that normally wouldn't eat king cake ate some because it was homemade. They especially loved the rich flavor of the bread, and that it wasn't overly sugary (I went easy on the icing and did not double the filling). I made this twice. Both times I cut the recipe in half (works great if you don't need to feed an army), and used a bread machine for most of the initial work, and did the shaping and final rise as normal. Since it's cold in the winter where I live and room temperature was not enough to raise the bread, I preheated the oven to its lowest temperature, then turned it off, placed a mug of boiling water on the edge of the cookie sheet the bread dough was on, and let the bread rise inside the warm oven. (For me, rising is normally the most difficult part of making yeast bread, and it worked great!) I also brushed egg wash on top (just beat an egg with a tiny bit of milk or water) before baking to give it a nice golden color. This recipe was a great success, and I would even consider making it when it's not Mardi Gras because it's that tasty. Thank you for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roguegambit13
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was a great recipe, I added 2 tablespoons of a really good quality cinnamon and substituted the filling listed for a simple black cherry puree and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roguegambit13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Really tasty. I've never had king cake. I love the sweet bread taste. I'll be using this every fat tuesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MardiGrasKingCake
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very lovely cake. Simply delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Wow! This was amazing. I took some to a friend and she made me promise she didn't have to wait another year for mardi gras to come around before she got more. My son doesn't like pecans so I had used almond meal in place of them, and it was incredible. On one of them, I added almond extract to the icing. The only thing odd was the cooking time. I cooked one at a time rather than together as they wouldn't fit together in the oven, and the first one burned as it only took the second one 15 minutes to bake. But I'll definitely be making this for special breakfasts as well as fat tuesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States