Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Yummy! I did cherries instead of raisins because we don't like raisins. net time I would double the filling and possibly bake in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I doubled the filling and my co-workers who have been to New Orleans said that I nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
First time trying this recipe and it came out better than I expected. The video was very helpful, and good for referencing how to kneed the dough. I didn't like the frosting so I made a buttercream frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneatta Jasper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Easy to follow instructions. If using a convection oven, rotate half ways through the baking time at 350. Also, if using a kitchen aid mixer, put the wet mix in the bowl and add the flour per directions at speed 2 for 3-4 min to develop gluten. To make sprinkles buy colored gel at Michaels or other and toothpick some in a sandwich bag and mix sugar colors. EVERYONE LOVED IT. "THANKS"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
AWESOME!! I just have one issue: the bottom of it burns everytime i make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxynesmom1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was my first time making a king cake and also my first time even trying one so I wasnt sure what to expect. It came out very good. Kind of like a cross between a honey bun and cinnamon roll. I did leave out the raisins and also cut the recipe in half to just make one cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I volunteered to make this cake for a Mardi Gras party I am attending and was disappointed. The temperature indicated on the recipe is not that mentioned in the video. In the recipe, 375 F. is the temperature, but in the video it is 350 F. It would seem that experience is a pre-requisite when making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have family in the south. This is a big deal to them! Now I know how to make it! I live in Boulder Colorado and we really don't celebrate. (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I rarely give such a low rating, but after the amount of work that went into this, I was very disappointed when I checked the first cake with 5 minutes left to bake, and the outer surface was burned beyond being edible. I followed all other instructions to a tee, but something was clearly off. Guess I'll hope the second cake goes better- I'll certainly check it sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this as written once and it was OK. Made it again with a few changes and it was the best king cake I've ever eaten! -The second time, I made half the recipe, only one cake. -I accidentally dropped about a tsp of nutmeg into the dough but it tasted better like that than the original amount. -I spread 8 oz. of cream cheese before the pecan filling, which I doubled (used the same amount as would be used for 2 cakes), and substituted dried cranberries for raisins. -I baked it at 340F for about 35 minutes. -I also made a cream cheese glaze with regular granulated sugar dissolved in a few tablespoons of water because I was out of confectioners sugar. With these changes, it is a 5 star recipe. As written, it's a 3. The dough is quite good, just needs more filling. Careful! not to over-cook. It will dry it out and it won't be and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States