Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I halved it for 8 servings since we are all giving up sweets for Lent and I didn't want extra for Ash Wednesday. Used applesauce in the dough instead of butter and applesauce in the filling instead of butter too. Can't beleive how moist and delish it turned out! Used skim milk for dough and glaze, too! Granted, it's alot of sugar but almost no fat! Didn't take the time to proof the yeast, just through all the indregients for the dough in my KitchenAid with the dough hook and whala! Beautiful! Thanks so much for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was my first King Cake. The recipe was great! I took it to work and it was highly praised. A long time New Orleans resident said that it looked and tasted authentic. This is a definite repeater for me. I did use too many eggs accidentally, but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'm pretty disappointed. I made a great King Cake last year and hoped that this was the recipe I used. Sadly, I don't think it was. The flavor of the dough and filling were just okay. I left out the raisins in the filling, because I just don't associate raisins and King Cake. Then, I added the sugar frosting following the recipe as is...blech! I think it ruined the whole thing. I should have added a little lemon juice or maybe a touch of vanilla extract to brighten it up. I'm hoping it will pass as okay at my Fat Tuesday celebration tomorrow, but in the end I may not even bring it. If I were to use this recipe again I might add another tablespoon or two of butter to the dough and an extra 1/2 tsp of salt. I would also add either lemon juice or vanilla extract to the frosting for more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Hold the raisins and the nuts, please. I like just a plain cinnamon filling. Great recipe. King cakes are very time consuming to make, but worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lukearrington
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
it took more work than i originally thought, but totally worth it! I combined this recipe (dough and baking time) with one on bon appetit (custard filling and icing) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Well... its still in the rising stage but I wanted to make a note for the filling! I have some cafe du monde coffee I was drinking from New Orleans and I decided to pour some in with the brown sugar. Needed to add some more flour but... tasted oh so delicious! I dont know why I havent done it before, but just cause you moved away from New Orleans doesn't mean you cant take the cooking with you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This King Cake recipe is very authentic. Having grown up in the City where it all began, I think I can say that King cakes have RAISANS in them..........LOL But only if that is the one you chose to make. You can skip the cinnamon raisan filling and put cherry pie filling, lemon pie filling......whatever you can think to put in it......it's always great. Just don't put too much. Thin layer. I use this recipe and it always is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is probably the best king cake i've ever had! I made on last night and it tastes just like home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenalynn
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Pleasantly surprised!! I knew I was going to use my bread machine, so I halved the recipe, so that it would fit. I didn't use raisins in the filling. I love raisins, but they have NO place in a king cake. :) The filling was really good, but it was a bit much. If you're from South Louisiana, like me, and want a traditional cinnamon king cake, I would suggest using a mix of 1/3 c white sugar and 1 T. cinnamon (or 2/3 c sugar and 2 T. cinnamon if you make the full recipe). And to me, king cake icing is equally, if not MORE important than the dough, so I am SO thankful to the reviewers who suggested using lemon juice to hide that funky taste that you get in powdered sugar. I loved this icing recipe from one reviewer: 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 T. butter melted, 1 t. clear vanilla, 1 t. lemon juice, 3 T. milk (plus add extra milk as needed to get to the right consistency.) It was PERFECT king cake icing. The full recipe, will make 2 regular-size king cakes, which could serve 20-30, depending on how you slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Will be making this again. Just enough cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States