Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Took way more flour to get the dough to come together. Other than that it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I have never heard of raisins in a king cake before. I did try this one leaving the raisins out. It was ok. Not traditional king cake, but it was good. And there is a ton more to king cake and Mardi Gras than the baby in the cake. I would make this again. But I would never put raisins in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Letellier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Made this last year for my employees and they loved it! Making it again this week by request. After living in La. and having the real thing every year I wasn't sure it would be "as good" but this is a great recipe. (Making a few alterations to filling) VERY proud to serve this King Cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My family RAVED about this! I made as directed, with the exception of the filling. i candied some pecans and added them to the cinnamon sugar mixture listed in the recipe for one king cake, and for the second one i whipped up a cream cheese filling. I also added sour cream to the frosting to cut that weird powdered sugar taste/texture. I've lived in Louisiana all my life and have probably eaten hundreds of pieces of king cake in my lifetime, but we all agreed that this was the best we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Great recipe!! Perfect every time! No raisins, no nuts. I bake it on a stone and don't need to oil the baking surface. When adding the colored sugars, I first use a water bottle spritzer to re-moisten the glaze. Since it's made of powdered sugar, it forms a shell almost instantly. I color my own sugars with Wilton color paste, scoop with a toothpick, and rub it into the sugar with a mortar and pestle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blue_eyed_baker
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Halved the cake recipe, but kept the rest the same delicious! No raisins either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe! Thanks for posting it. (I also was an anti-raisin-in-King-Cake person though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by harrywdog
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Non-dairy, but fantastic! I have never made anything that needed to rise before, so I was doubly impressed. I made a couple of changes because of food allergies but I believe that the recipe would be at least as good if not better without any modifications. I had to make this non-dairy so I substituted frozen leftover dairy-free eggnog for the milk. I figured that would be closer to real milk than rice milk would have been. I reduced the sugar just a little bit to compensate for the sweetness of the eggnog. I also used dairy-free butter. Oh, yeah, I didn't have pecans so I chopped up some almonds instead. Worked great. One more thing: I didn't have the right colors of sprinkles for Mardi Gras, so I made colored sugar using the recipe found under "Colored Sugar" on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ElleMcAlister
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this recipe with Creole Mama's recipe for additional filling (found in the ratings here) and it was absolutely perfect! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Huge hit at our home! Made it with Cindy's Jambalaya for a perfect Fat Tuesday meal. I made it in our bread machine till step 3. Yes it does make more than one. In fact I made I large and 2 small choosing to give 2 away with a note "Laissez les bons temps rouler". I did forget to pick up a toy baby....and baby Jesus was tucked away in the attic. :))) ps I added a bit of vanilla to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fromkateskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States