Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Save yourself some time like I did...Instead of making the pastry from scratch buy the seamless cresent rolls. I used 2 packages, unroll them and put the both sheets together to make a long sheet. Fill with the filling, I used the applesauce instead of butter as suggested by another reviewer and added 1/2 small tub of ff cream cheese. I used 1/2 tub of frosting and low fat cresent rolls .I cut the cooking time to 20 min at 350*F..It was wonderful and easy... serve on baking sheet after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This has to be the driest, most tasteless king cake I have ever tried. I found the dough to be very bread-like, but with a cardboard flavor. The filling was extremely dry and lacked flavor. The icing had to be one of the worst parts of the cake. It did not make enough to cover one king cake much less two not that I would have wanted more of this bland sugar paste. I would not recommend this recipe to my worst enemy. I have been born and reared in Louisiana and have tasted many different recipes for king cakes, but this is not among the better I have ever experienced. Can I give this recipe a minus five stars? Yuck is an understatement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wonderful! It's like being back home in new orleans, though I did omit the raisins...there's almost never raisins in king cake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was really good but I would have liked more filling and glaze. Next time I'll double those and I'll connect the two rolls to form one big oval instead of two small ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a very good recipe with one exception- the cooking temp. I am giving this a 4 because of that, but would like to say that the dough of this recipe is fantastic. I did leave the raisins out because that isn't traditional. And I added cream cheese and apple filling. I made my dough using the dough hook of my kitchenaid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great recipe and relatively easy, especially with breadmaker on dough setting. I got rave reviews the two times I've made this recipe just this month. For the dough, I substituted whole wheat flour for 2 cups of the 5-1/2 c called for. I replaced all butter with applesauce and a bit of flaxseed meal. I left out the raisins and made the filling thick and creamy, not crumbly. I made the glaze with: 1 c. dry nonfat milk, 1/2 c. powdered sugar, and 1/4 c. BOILING water, then added some orange extract for flavor, blend until smooth. I made the colored sugar with about a 1/4c of plain sugar and just a couple of drops of food coloring (mix colors for purple before adding to sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Basically, this tasted like a cinnamon roll. The cake sure looked beautiful and was a big hit at our New Orleans Saints Super Bowl party!! Having said that, it was really dry. I did make it the day before and let it sit overnight, but covered in a cake dish. So maybe that's how it got so dry. I'm going to make another one, but fill it with cherry pie filling and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Nice taste, fairly easy to make. Next time I'll cut the bake time down to 25 minutes, came out a little dark, and slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Made it for a Mardi Gras party last night and this was a big hit. Took longer to rise than I thought but was well worth the wait. Omitted the raisins as others have suggested and used a small baby so put it under the slice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Not as good as we had hoped. It didn't seem to raise very well. We cooked the first half, and when it came out, we decided to let the second half raise longer...still very thin. Not sure what went wrong. The filling was good, though, and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States