Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Hmm...I followed this recipe exactly and came out with a dry, overcooked cake. If you're going to make this...try 350 instead of 375. I'd also double the filling ingredients, and roll the dough out in a much larger rectangle to facilitate more filling! Not a 5 star king cake as is...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleGirl17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Gave this 4 stars because I changed the recipe so much. Took other reviewers advice and cooked for about 25 mins on 335. It came out perfect! Also left out raisins and nuts. I made a strawberry cream cheese filling instead. I also made the icing with milk and vanilla instead of water. The cakes got rave reviews from everyone! Thanks Jo and all the previous reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caffeinatedmama
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I used my kitchenaid to knead it, and did the final rise in a bunt cake mold. I used lemon juice instead of water in the frosting, and added a bit of vanilla extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is from New Orleans and he loves this recipe. I used half bread flour and half AP flour so the dough really rose and was a little more fluffy, which is our personal preference. The dough itself is not too sweet so you can please those who like things sugary and those who don't by adjusting the amount of icing you drizzle on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Not being form New Orleans and having no idea what a Mardi Gras King Cake was I made it. After making it I decided it is basically a glorified cinnamon roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made this king cake recipe twice now, and it comes out wonderfully. The only thing is I double the filling, omit the raisins and make 3 rolls, which are then braided. If you do a braid, the cross section of slices looks extra pretty. I also double the frosting and a brick of cream cheese (my DH, from Louisiana, insists on cream cheese frosting). Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spy Glass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I craved this desperately when I was pregnant but we live in upstate NY and nobody sells them not even around Mardi Gras and my husband said it was too hard to make. This recipe whipped up in a snap and would've been delicious if I hadn't subbed nature's blend butter stuff for the butter in the filling, totally ruined it by trying to be healthy. Cake tastes great to everyone but me though because I know what it's supposed to taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Burned by 25 min :( should only be cooked for 20 min...maybe less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiesoule
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I've made it several times now, it always turns out fantastic. To make life easier I just warm the milk in the microwave, mix all the wet ingredients together, mix all the dry ingredients together, and then combine the two in my bread machine. I find to make the cake look extra spectacular, I twist the two roles of dough together, join the ends so I have one twisted loop, and let it rise, it always comes out of the oven looking fantastic! Also for the filling I like to use a cream cheese based one, I just mix some powdered sugar, cinnamon, and milk with 8oz of cream cheese and spread that on the dough before I role it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States