Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Excellent king cake! After I moved away from Louisiana, I found that no grocery stores carried king cakes during mardi gras or if they did.. they weren't too appetizing.. This cake is just like what I would get at home. The dough is spot in flavor. The filling is also delicious, although I omitted the raisins and pecans because I've never had that in king cake. I also used the cream cheese filling another user posted, which turned out great. The first time I made this, the frosting tasted a little off, but the second time I used 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 T butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 T milk, and it came out great. The filling and frosting needed a little modification, but the dough is excellent, and that's the most important part! P.S. if you like fruit filled king cakes, canned pie filling works great. Strawberry is my fave, but blueberry is pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was my first attempt at a King "Cake". I was scared because it came out very brown on the outside, but the next day it was soft. I will probably cut the time 5 minutes next round. I also doubled the filling, but thought it was a bit too much. I'd recommend making one and a half the recipe for the filling. However, I tripled the frosting recipe. I also twisted the two rolls together to make one cake instead of making two rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excellent!!! I made it with frozen bread dough, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Hmm...I followed this recipe exactly and came out with a dry, overcooked cake. If you're going to make this...try 350 instead of 375. I'd also double the filling ingredients, and roll the dough out in a much larger rectangle to facilitate more filling! Not a 5 star king cake as is...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleGirl17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Gave this 4 stars because I changed the recipe so much. Took other reviewers advice and cooked for about 25 mins on 335. It came out perfect! Also left out raisins and nuts. I made a strawberry cream cheese filling instead. I also made the icing with milk and vanilla instead of water. The cakes got rave reviews from everyone! Thanks Jo and all the previous reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caffeinatedmama
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I used my kitchenaid to knead it, and did the final rise in a bunt cake mold. I used lemon juice instead of water in the frosting, and added a bit of vanilla extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is from New Orleans and he loves this recipe. I used half bread flour and half AP flour so the dough really rose and was a little more fluffy, which is our personal preference. The dough itself is not too sweet so you can please those who like things sugary and those who don't by adjusting the amount of icing you drizzle on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Not being form New Orleans and having no idea what a Mardi Gras King Cake was I made it. After making it I decided it is basically a glorified cinnamon roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made this king cake recipe twice now, and it comes out wonderfully. The only thing is I double the filling, omit the raisins and make 3 rolls, which are then braided. If you do a braid, the cross section of slices looks extra pretty. I also double the frosting and a brick of cream cheese (my DH, from Louisiana, insists on cream cheese frosting). Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spy Glass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States