Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delicious cake/bread and yields sooo much more than 16 servings. I turned the halves into one cake by baking it on a round baking stone. Made a butter cream icing...would not advise it but the colors turned out wonderfully this way. Used an old ring instead of a baby doll and hopefully no one will eat it! Great instructions, thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyeater28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is my second time making this recipe and it is excellent. I leave out the raisins and nuts since I am serving it to kids at a playdate but everyone loves this recipe and last year I didn't even have enough leftovers to let my husband taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Half an hour was DEFINITELY too long to cook the cake in my oven, which is usually pretty accurate with temp and time. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
i used this recipe last year and it was a big hit with my boys. However i cut the dough in half and made two smaller cakes because i did not have a pan big enough to accomodate all that dough. Also, i topped mine with a cream cheese frosting dyed for mardi gras. I also seem to remember adding a coin to the cake as well for a prosperous year ahead. Oh, i also did not add raisins. Here i am again geting ready to make my cakes for this year...great recipe!!!I recommend looking for a muffaletta recipe to go with this great dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
It was my first time ever making a Kings Cake, I wanted to try something new something fun and educate my kids on what Mardi Gras is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Atkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Two cakes are done and look great. I added cream cheese to the filling mixture and eliminated the butter. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious! I made 1/2 the recipe since I only wanted 1 cake. It took some time, but was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
excellent - easy top follow directions and tastes fantastic. several people said it was the best they had ever tasted. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this recipe last year, and it was incredible. I used cinnamon apples as the filling, took the darn thing to work, and it was gone in an hour. Great recipe, and doubles well as a recipe for cinnamon rolls - just use a sharp knife to cut the roll. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've made this King Cake many times and it's always turned out great! Made it as written minus the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States