Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe made a beautiful king cake. It was really delicious, but I'd probably use less nutmeg as I found it a bit strong, but that's just a personal taste - otherwise I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was my first King Cake and I loved it. Perhaps not the most traditional, but yummy. I substituted oatmeal for the pecans (didn't have any on hand and didn't want to pay $10 lb to get any lol) and upped the butter a little bit to make up for it. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yummy. I was a little homesick so I made this to remind me of home. Turned o ut great, followed the directions as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marisa123
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Really easy, good, and fun to make and I already made the cake twice in one week:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoInPC
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I did a couple of practice runs before the big day--Fat Tuesday--and tried several of the variations people suggested. One tip on adding a cream cheese mixture: this turns out much better if you contain the cream cheese in one band towards the beginning end of your rolling of the dough. I had some issues with it seeping out during baking when I tried spreading it over the entire dough rectangle. Also, don't snip the cakes with cream cheese filling (or at the most just give the dough some tiny slices with a sharp knife and don't cut in as far); it looks prettier without the seeping filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a delicious cake! Thank you for sharing. The one thing I have to change for next year is not to leave it in the oven for that long. The cake only needed about 15-20 minutes in my oven. I'm glad I was watching it or it would have burned. Thank you so much for sharing! It was a hit at my Mardi Gras party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! Made one ring as directed and one with apples instead of pecans, since my mother can't have the nuts. Both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I cut this recipie in half (only had one egg in the house), kept the original amount of filling and added 1/2 a block of cream cheese. It came out DELICIOUS! Gone in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Really yummy! Not too sweet. I used a whole almond for the "baby." I will make this as a coffee cake through the year. I cut the recipe in half, as there are only 3 of us, and it's keeping nicely in my covered cake dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Just made this and it was delicious! I made one with the cinamon and sugar filling but added the cream cheese filling that was suggested in another review. In the other I put the cream cheese filling and a strawberry filling. I also prepared the dough in my breadmaker and it turned out perfect. I did let it rise in a bowl though cause I knew my breadmaker wouldn't be big enough. In fact I had to help it mix a little bit since there was a lot of dough in there and it had trouble mixing the top portion, but it kneaded fine. I did not add the nuts and raisins because those are not typical king cake ingredients. I'm a Louisianian so I am even more impressed with this recipe because I have had many, many king cakes and this is the best one I have had and my hubby agreed! I also cooked it at 350 for about 20 minutes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States