Mardi Gras Gator Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Really great recipe. The fresh ingredients really bring a nice flavor. Looking for suggestions/recipes for a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My grandson suggested we try this recipe and we added some Adobe seasoning, paprika, flour to soak up some of the juice,also gave it a bit of kick with jalapeño juice and instead of cracked flour we used butter crackers ground up! Excellent!!!! I ordered the alligator meat on line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Friends thought the taste was spot on and gave the flavor a 5. Said it was like crab cakes. . And they thought the shape should have been like a crab cake and eaten with a fork - as I shaped the balls they were not firm like a meatball. Several fell apart as I tried to fry them. They also fell apart if you tried to spear it with a fork or toothpick. I did scale to use 1 pound of gator (found in the freezer section at Marsh grocery next to the frozen fish for $7.99) so I could have been off somthing. . . I just couldn't get past the smell - even the whole house stunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We made these into patties and had Gator Burgers! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband and son go gator hunting every few yrs. so this was a perfect recipe to try for us. The meat balls came out fantastic. I used the spices but added some cajun spice as well, and I only had dried parsley but it worked out fine. I made several meat balls ,and I used some of the meat mixture and formed into patties, coated in the cracker meal and fried in a little oil in a skillet. Made excellent burgers with homemade hot mustard. mmmmm... will be making these again for sure. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I am a huge alligator fan, and these meatballs were really good. Also, if you're not in a place to run out and buy some gator meat, www.allamericangator.com is a great place to order it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I didn't have gator meat. I made them with ground turkey and they were delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love alligator, and this was great. However I can not get alligator any more, Is there anything someone would suggest to use in place of it with a close to it taste and texture?...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
It was good... I guess?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States