Mardi Gras Gator Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Really great recipe. The fresh ingredients really bring a nice flavor. Looking for suggestions/recipes for a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My grandson suggested we try this recipe and we added some Adobe seasoning, paprika, flour to soak up some of the juice,also gave it a bit of kick with jalapeƱo juice and instead of cracked flour we used butter crackers ground up! Excellent!!!! I ordered the alligator meat on line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Friends thought the taste was spot on and gave the flavor a 5. Said it was like crab cakes. . And they thought the shape should have been like a crab cake and eaten with a fork - as I shaped the balls they were not firm like a meatball. Several fell apart as I tried to fry them. They also fell apart if you tried to spear it with a fork or toothpick. I did scale to use 1 pound of gator (found in the freezer section at Marsh grocery next to the frozen fish for $7.99) so I could have been off somthing. . . I just couldn't get past the smell - even the whole house stunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We made these into patties and had Gator Burgers! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband and son go gator hunting every few yrs. so this was a perfect recipe to try for us. The meat balls came out fantastic. I used the spices but added some cajun spice as well, and I only had dried parsley but it worked out fine. I made several meat balls ,and I used some of the meat mixture and formed into patties, coated in the cracker meal and fried in a little oil in a skillet. Made excellent burgers with homemade hot mustard. mmmmm... will be making these again for sure. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I am a huge alligator fan, and these meatballs were really good. Also, if you're not in a place to run out and buy some gator meat, www.allamericangator.com is a great place to order it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I didn't have gator meat. I made them with ground turkey and they were delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love alligator, and this was great. However I can not get alligator any more, Is there anything someone would suggest to use in place of it with a close to it taste and texture?...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
It was good... I guess?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States