Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
When making these I use Caramel or Butterscotch Pudding and Orange Craisons. What a difference much better than the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
this is a fabulous recipe. Tried it with butterscotch instant pudding and it was great! Gave it a caramel tasting effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have been making these delicious buns for years, and the instant pudding works just fine. Thanks for reminding me to get this great recipe out and start using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have made these sticky buns for 20 years and they're always gone in no time. However, over the year, I have develpoed my own twists on the recipe. I very much agree with some of the other comments who suggest using non-instant butterscotch pudding and Rhodes frozen dinner roll dough balls. I always use a stick of butter and melt it with the brown sugar until it combines. Also, using waxed paper works better than paper towel. I also remove the risen rolls from the oven while it pre-heats. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My son has been making this for me every Mother's Day since he was 10 years old. Easy and fabulous. The only difference with our recipe is that we use Butterscotch Pudding mix. Oh, and sometimes pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made this for years with a couple of changes. I use butterscotch cook and serve pudding. I also find that if I mix the pudding, brown sugar and melted butter together and pour it over the rolls, there are no dry pudding spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My recipe is exactly like this expect is calls for vanilla or butterscotch pudding (cook & serve not the instant) And I like it alot better. The directions are identical. I have been making these for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! I have been making it for 34 years...ever since I moved to Wisconsin. We call it "Monkey Bread" up here. I don't understand how anyone could have a flop as I have never had one and it's so darn easy! Make sure you use enough melted butter. I do a couple things differently but I don't think it should make too much of a difference. I use 18 Rhodes frozen rolls. I think cutting them in half is a good idea as the rolls can be quiet large and messy to eat...but that's the fun of it. I spray plastic wrap with Pam and cover the rolls over night. I never refriderate them...I don't see how they would rise that way. In the morning I have a beautiful, over-flowing bundt pan. Bake, and viola, perfection! I do suggest covering the pan with foil the last half of baking as the outer rolls get more dried out. Definitely use a large plate as the nut mixture accumulates on the bottom of the pan and then slides down the sides once the pan is inverted. This is a tradition on Christmas/Easter morning and a hit every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is almost the same as my recipe. I use butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. It will have a wonderful caramel flavor. So good when you have house guests and you want to make something special for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Been making these for years, but you don't put walnuts on sticky buns. They need whole pecans and real butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States