Marcia's Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I lightened up this recipe with lean ground beef, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and fat free cottage cheese---it was still very good--very rich. I think next time I will use a little more spice in the meat mixture ie garlic and perhaps use a little less cheese mixture. Overall it was very good and my husband told me I could make this anytime for him--it's true--men do love it!!!! :) Thanks for an easy good recipe!!!! After ligthening it up--it was only 6 weight watcher points for a serving and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is a great "poor-man's" lasagna. The only item that I found a bit overpowering (eventhough I measured correctly) was the cinnamon. I would try this recipe again only without the cinnamon. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnkgj2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very good. I made a more hearty spaghetti sauce then this recipe called for. (using garlic, herbs and spices, ect) I also added about 1 cup of grated Monterey jack cheese to the filling, and I topped it with grated cheddar. Hearty and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is creamy delicious stuff when made according to the recipe. I have been making this for years. It is high in fat, but it is easy and inexpensive, and it is true, Men do love it! I suggest to everyone that you make it as written. I too wanted to doctor up the tomato sauce, but when you do that you loose the lovely green onion flavour that should be the star in this recipe. I also use real butter, and omit the green peppers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I used ground chicken and Penne pasta because that was all I had. I also substituted the new Campbell's creamy ranchero tomato soup for part of the tomato sauce and left out the sour cream. Might need to season the meat a little next time, some paprika or garlic maybe. Overall, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I omitted the butter totally. Didn't see any need for it at all. I added 1 tbsp of garlic, tsp oregano, and parsley, 1 cp ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese,and 3/4 cp sour cream for the cheese mixture. I mixed in 1 can rotell with 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat instead of the 1 lb ground meat. I layered the nooodles, cheese mix, and meat, topped with mozzerella cheese, then repeated a second time. Left everything else the same in the recipe! I did let it sit for about 15 minutes to cool. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee352008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Although this recipe was easy to prepare, the dish did not have much flavor at all. Sorry but I don't think I would make it again. If I were I would use salsa instead of tomato sauce for an extra boost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a real crowd pleaser. In my house the "crowd " is me and my 9 yr old son and it's hard to please both of us. Since I am under doctors orders to eat low fat, I used extra lean ground turkey, fat free cottage cheese, low fat sour cream and only 4 oz of low fat cream cheese and it was still good! Next time I will add a few spices since it is a bit bland using so many low fat ingredients; but, it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I really wanted to love this. I thought I would. I definitely didn't. I thought it had way too much of the cottage cheese mixture. I thought it could use an extra pound of ground beef and a can of petite diced tomatoes in the sauce. Some seasoning in the sauce, some sugar, salt, pepper, oregano. And I would cut the cottage cheese and cream cheese in half. I will try it again that way and see how I feel about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I WAS SO GLAD TO SEE THIS RECIPE POSTED- THIS IS THE CLOSEST TO THE RECIPE I USED TO MAKE FOR MY EX- HUSBAND OVER 10 YEARS AGO AND WE LOVED IT- I HAD FORGOTTEN THE COMBO OF CHEESES- I ALSO USE SPAGHETTI SAUCE AND ADD GARLIC- I LIKE TO ADD MOZZARELLA CHEESE TO THE TOP - ITS VERY RICH AND FATTY- BUT THAT CHOICE IS YOURS- THEY HAVE HEALTHIER NOODLES NOW AND LIGHT/FAT FREE CHEESES- DRAIN/RINSE YOUR GROUND MEAT OR USE LEAN GROUND BEEF- LOW SUGAR SPAGHETTI SAUCE- ADD SOME VEGGIES (EGGPLANT/ EXTRA BELL PEPPERS, MUSHROOMS, SPINACH ETC) AND VOILA!! UMMMM A HEALTHY DISH- FOR ME TONIGHT THOUGH- BRING ON THE FATTY RICH COMFORT- YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States