Marcia's Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I lightened up this recipe with lean ground beef, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and fat free cottage cheese---it was still very good--very rich. I think next time I will use a little more spice in the meat mixture ie garlic and perhaps use a little less cheese mixture. Overall it was very good and my husband told me I could make this anytime for him--it's true--men do love it!!!! :) Thanks for an easy good recipe!!!! After ligthening it up--it was only 6 weight watcher points for a serving and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is a great "poor-man's" lasagna. The only item that I found a bit overpowering (eventhough I measured correctly) was the cinnamon. I would try this recipe again only without the cinnamon. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnkgj2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very good. I made a more hearty spaghetti sauce then this recipe called for. (using garlic, herbs and spices, ect) I also added about 1 cup of grated Monterey jack cheese to the filling, and I topped it with grated cheddar. Hearty and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is creamy delicious stuff when made according to the recipe. I have been making this for years. It is high in fat, but it is easy and inexpensive, and it is true, Men do love it! I suggest to everyone that you make it as written. I too wanted to doctor up the tomato sauce, but when you do that you loose the lovely green onion flavour that should be the star in this recipe. I also use real butter, and omit the green peppers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I used ground chicken and Penne pasta because that was all I had. I also substituted the new Campbell's creamy ranchero tomato soup for part of the tomato sauce and left out the sour cream. Might need to season the meat a little next time, some paprika or garlic maybe. Overall, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I omitted the butter totally. Didn't see any need for it at all. I added 1 tbsp of garlic, tsp oregano, and parsley, 1 cp ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese,and 3/4 cp sour cream for the cheese mixture. I mixed in 1 can rotell with 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat instead of the 1 lb ground meat. I layered the nooodles, cheese mix, and meat, topped with mozzerella cheese, then repeated a second time. Left everything else the same in the recipe! I did let it sit for about 15 minutes to cool. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee352008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Although this recipe was easy to prepare, the dish did not have much flavor at all. Sorry but I don't think I would make it again. If I were I would use salsa instead of tomato sauce for an extra boost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a real crowd pleaser. In my house the "crowd " is me and my 9 yr old son and it's hard to please both of us. Since I am under doctors orders to eat low fat, I used extra lean ground turkey, fat free cottage cheese, low fat sour cream and only 4 oz of low fat cream cheese and it was still good! Next time I will add a few spices since it is a bit bland using so many low fat ingredients; but, it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I really wanted to love this. I thought I would. I definitely didn't. I thought it had way too much of the cottage cheese mixture. I thought it could use an extra pound of ground beef and a can of petite diced tomatoes in the sauce. Some seasoning in the sauce, some sugar, salt, pepper, oregano. And I would cut the cottage cheese and cream cheese in half. I will try it again that way and see how I feel about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I WAS SO GLAD TO SEE THIS RECIPE POSTED- THIS IS THE CLOSEST TO THE RECIPE I USED TO MAKE FOR MY EX- HUSBAND OVER 10 YEARS AGO AND WE LOVED IT- I HAD FORGOTTEN THE COMBO OF CHEESES- I ALSO USE SPAGHETTI SAUCE AND ADD GARLIC- I LIKE TO ADD MOZZARELLA CHEESE TO THE TOP - ITS VERY RICH AND FATTY- BUT THAT CHOICE IS YOURS- THEY HAVE HEALTHIER NOODLES NOW AND LIGHT/FAT FREE CHEESES- DRAIN/RINSE YOUR GROUND MEAT OR USE LEAN GROUND BEEF- LOW SUGAR SPAGHETTI SAUCE- ADD SOME VEGGIES (EGGPLANT/ EXTRA BELL PEPPERS, MUSHROOMS, SPINACH ETC) AND VOILA!! UMMMM A HEALTHY DISH- FOR ME TONIGHT THOUGH- BRING ON THE FATTY RICH COMFORT- YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States