Marcia's Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is my all time favirite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My boyfriend has practically inhaled this cassarole. I like it, it's very rich, but one thing I would change is to saute the green pepper before adding it in. That's just a personal preference, I like my veggies to be hidden :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a real crowd pleaser. In my house the "crowd " is me and my 9 yr old son and it's hard to please both of us. Since I am under doctors orders to eat low fat, I used extra lean ground turkey, fat free cottage cheese, low fat sour cream and only 4 oz of low fat cream cheese and it was still good! Next time I will add a few spices since it is a bit bland using so many low fat ingredients; but, it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I really wanted to love this. I thought I would. I definitely didn't. I thought it had way too much of the cottage cheese mixture. I thought it could use an extra pound of ground beef and a can of petite diced tomatoes in the sauce. Some seasoning in the sauce, some sugar, salt, pepper, oregano. And I would cut the cottage cheese and cream cheese in half. I will try it again that way and see how I feel about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, except I used homemade meat sauce leftover from spaghetti 2 days ago. The result: stunning! Let it rest (cool) in the pan about 20 minutes before serving and it will cut nicely into squares for an attractive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I omitted the butter totally. Didn't see any need for it at all. I added 1 tbsp of garlic, tsp oregano, and parsley, 1 cp ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese,and 3/4 cp sour cream for the cheese mixture. I mixed in 1 can rotell with 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat instead of the 1 lb ground meat. I layered the nooodles, cheese mix, and meat, topped with mozzerella cheese, then repeated a second time. Left everything else the same in the recipe! I did let it sit for about 15 minutes to cool. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee352008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I WAS SO GLAD TO SEE THIS RECIPE POSTED- THIS IS THE CLOSEST TO THE RECIPE I USED TO MAKE FOR MY EX- HUSBAND OVER 10 YEARS AGO AND WE LOVED IT- I HAD FORGOTTEN THE COMBO OF CHEESES- I ALSO USE SPAGHETTI SAUCE AND ADD GARLIC- I LIKE TO ADD MOZZARELLA CHEESE TO THE TOP - ITS VERY RICH AND FATTY- BUT THAT CHOICE IS YOURS- THEY HAVE HEALTHIER NOODLES NOW AND LIGHT/FAT FREE CHEESES- DRAIN/RINSE YOUR GROUND MEAT OR USE LEAN GROUND BEEF- LOW SUGAR SPAGHETTI SAUCE- ADD SOME VEGGIES (EGGPLANT/ EXTRA BELL PEPPERS, MUSHROOMS, SPINACH ETC) AND VOILA!! UMMMM A HEALTHY DISH- FOR ME TONIGHT THOUGH- BRING ON THE FATTY RICH COMFORT- YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very good homey dish. I did change it up a littl for our tastes. Instead of the green onions, I sauted some chopped yellow onion with some sliced fresh onions, and then added ground turkey ( we're trying to lighten up where we can). I added garlic powder, cajun seasoning and worcheshire to the sauce. We enjoyed this with some Italian zucchini and tomatoes as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was given to me by one of my professors in 1967. She had prepared it for an informal dinner for a few students at her home and we all loved it. She called it Thora's Hamburger. HOWEVER, she made the following additions: Add 1 tsp. oregano, 1/2 tsp. basil or 1/4 tsp. thyme, and a 4 oz. can of mushrooms to the tomato sauce. It makes all the difference. 3 stars as is, but 5 stars for an easy & tasty comfort food dinner. Omit the butter/margarine if you like. Use oil or pan spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I used fat free cream cheese, low-fat cottage cheese, low-fat sour cream & sprinkled shredded reduced fat cheddar & bread crumbs on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lake Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States