Marcia's Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I thought this was a very good weeknight meal, with great leftovers. First, I used REAL butter instead of margarine, just a personal choice I guess. And as some other reviewers suggested, I used a jar of my favorite store-bought spaghetti sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce, and used most of the jar. Low fat cream cheese and cottage cheese worked great, and I also covered the top of the casserole with grated sharp cheddar cheese for the last couple of minutes in the oven. Good served with a green salad. Very similar to a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
A must on anyones rotation. Easy to make, everyone likes it...GREAT comfort food. I love this dish even though it's not the most beautiful on the table. Kids favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was given to me by one of my professors in 1967. She had prepared it for an informal dinner for a few students at her home and we all loved it. She called it Thora's Hamburger. HOWEVER, she made the following additions: Add 1 tsp. oregano, 1/2 tsp. basil or 1/4 tsp. thyme, and a 4 oz. can of mushrooms to the tomato sauce. It makes all the difference. 3 stars as is, but 5 stars for an easy & tasty comfort food dinner. Omit the butter/margarine if you like. Use oil or pan spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, except I used homemade meat sauce leftover from spaghetti 2 days ago. The result: stunning! Let it rest (cool) in the pan about 20 minutes before serving and it will cut nicely into squares for an attractive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is creamy delicious stuff when made according to the recipe. I have been making this for years. It is high in fat, but it is easy and inexpensive, and it is true, Men do love it! I suggest to everyone that you make it as written. I too wanted to doctor up the tomato sauce, but when you do that you loose the lovely green onion flavour that should be the star in this recipe. I also use real butter, and omit the green peppers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This recipe is excellent! It's true, all the men love it! Was so easy to put together, and it comes out just delicious! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I husbands mother had given me a recipe very very similar to this a few years ago. It is one of my husbands casserole dishes. In her recipe you mix the cottage cheese mixture with the noodles and alternate layers of meat sauce and the noodle mixture. I also added garlic powder to the meat while it was browning and to the egg noodles.. It is a tasty recipe the makes a lot, and everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I used fat free cream cheese, low-fat cottage cheese, low-fat sour cream & sprinkled shredded reduced fat cheddar & bread crumbs on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lake Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I WAS SO GLAD TO SEE THIS RECIPE POSTED- THIS IS THE CLOSEST TO THE RECIPE I USED TO MAKE FOR MY EX- HUSBAND OVER 10 YEARS AGO AND WE LOVED IT- I HAD FORGOTTEN THE COMBO OF CHEESES- I ALSO USE SPAGHETTI SAUCE AND ADD GARLIC- I LIKE TO ADD MOZZARELLA CHEESE TO THE TOP - ITS VERY RICH AND FATTY- BUT THAT CHOICE IS YOURS- THEY HAVE HEALTHIER NOODLES NOW AND LIGHT/FAT FREE CHEESES- DRAIN/RINSE YOUR GROUND MEAT OR USE LEAN GROUND BEEF- LOW SUGAR SPAGHETTI SAUCE- ADD SOME VEGGIES (EGGPLANT/ EXTRA BELL PEPPERS, MUSHROOMS, SPINACH ETC) AND VOILA!! UMMMM A HEALTHY DISH- FOR ME TONIGHT THOUGH- BRING ON THE FATTY RICH COMFORT- YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I omitted the butter totally. Didn't see any need for it at all. I added 1 tbsp of garlic, tsp oregano, and parsley, 1 cp ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese,and 3/4 cp sour cream for the cheese mixture. I mixed in 1 can rotell with 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat instead of the 1 lb ground meat. I layered the nooodles, cheese mix, and meat, topped with mozzerella cheese, then repeated a second time. Left everything else the same in the recipe! I did let it sit for about 15 minutes to cool. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee352008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States