Marcia's Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I husbands mother had given me a recipe very very similar to this a few years ago. It is one of my husbands casserole dishes. In her recipe you mix the cottage cheese mixture with the noodles and alternate layers of meat sauce and the noodle mixture. I also added garlic powder to the meat while it was browning and to the egg noodles.. It is a tasty recipe the makes a lot, and everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I thought this was really bland even though I added extra salt, pepper, italian seasoning, and garlic powder to both the meat and cheese mixtures. It also came out really dry. That might be because I baked it an extra 10 minutes (I had made the meat mixture in advance, so it was cold from the fridge and wasn't heated through in 30 minutes), but the onions and peppers were still crunchy anyway. It might turn out better if you use pasta sauce instead of plain tomato sauce,double the sauce amount so it's not so dry, and cook the onions and peppers first. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is creamy delicious stuff when made according to the recipe. I have been making this for years. It is high in fat, but it is easy and inexpensive, and it is true, Men do love it! I suggest to everyone that you make it as written. I too wanted to doctor up the tomato sauce, but when you do that you loose the lovely green onion flavour that should be the star in this recipe. I also use real butter, and omit the green peppers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used a 12 oz. bag of egg noodles-for 8 servings-but didn't add any extra sauce or anything. I probably should have. I used one can of tomato sauce and instead of the other can I used spaghetti sauce. The bell pepper and onion was not fully cooked, it should have been cooked with the ground beef. I pretty much followed this recipe as instructed. It was filling, the leftovers were good, but it somewhat lacked in flavor. My husband didn't like it too much, but he's not a fan of anything with noodles in it. It wasn't hard to do, but I don't think I'll be making it again. Also, my 3-year-old ate it and I didn't hear any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
We are not fans of cottage cheese so I changed it to Ricotta cheese and instead of egg noodles I used Penne pasta, that is what I had on hand. I couldn't get beyond the strong cream cheese taste. I had to really DR up the sauce with added spices, but that is because I am spoiled and usually make my own pasta sauce, never use it from a can. But...my husband and two kids ate it up, thus the 4 stars! I actually would make this dish again, only using my homemade pasta sauce and omitting the sour cream and cream cheese and would add some mozzerella into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I thought this was a very good weeknight meal, with great leftovers. First, I used REAL butter instead of margarine, just a personal choice I guess. And as some other reviewers suggested, I used a jar of my favorite store-bought spaghetti sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce, and used most of the jar. Low fat cream cheese and cottage cheese worked great, and I also covered the top of the casserole with grated sharp cheddar cheese for the last couple of minutes in the oven. Good served with a green salad. Very similar to a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is a great "poor-man's" lasagna. The only item that I found a bit overpowering (eventhough I measured correctly) was the cinnamon. I would try this recipe again only without the cinnamon. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnkgj2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Although this recipe was easy to prepare, the dish did not have much flavor at all. Sorry but I don't think I would make it again. If I were I would use salsa instead of tomato sauce for an extra boost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very good. I made a more hearty spaghetti sauce then this recipe called for. (using garlic, herbs and spices, ect) I also added about 1 cup of grated Monterey jack cheese to the filling, and I topped it with grated cheddar. Hearty and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I lightened up this recipe with lean ground beef, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and fat free cottage cheese---it was still very good--very rich. I think next time I will use a little more spice in the meat mixture ie garlic and perhaps use a little less cheese mixture. Overall it was very good and my husband told me I could make this anytime for him--it's true--men do love it!!!! :) Thanks for an easy good recipe!!!! After ligthening it up--it was only 6 weight watcher points for a serving and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States