Marbled New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Will definitely try this again. Good but a bit heavy. Plus my marbling didn't turn out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This turned out awesome and is very good served with the Raspberry Sauce recipe (submitted by The Tattooed Chef).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe is so good I am making my first review ever! I made an oreo crust instead of graham and it was awesome. The cake is tall, smooth and velvety, my family said it was the best cake they ever ate, and that I should sell it lol! A few suggestions.... To help prevent cracks drop your pan from an inch or ap height a few times to make the bubbles come out.Follow the allrecipes video about how to cook a cheesecake using a water bath. It makes a wonderful difference, and it's easy, just add a few minutes to your bake time, I cooked mine 75 minutes. I also returned the cake to the oven when it was turned off and out of the water bath so it would cool extra slowly. Also to the reviewer who sai it's not sweet enough - was your can of eagle brand 14 oz or 300 ml? Make sure you check! I am in Canada and our cans are 300 ml. I added 4 tbsp extra sugar to compensate. Turned out just right. Thanks eagle brand for a perfect first cheesecake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Vesak-Torriss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peace River, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Dano
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This one is a definite keeper. I cold smoked my chocolate with mesquite before melting. Exquisite smoked chocolate cheesecake and it looked beautiful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I wasn't a fan only because it wasn't sweet enough for my taste. But, I made it for my husband for his birthday last year and he LOVED it! He asked for it again this year. He liked that it wasn't over the top sweet but still smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nunyabusiness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Maine, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Delicious, a great mix of both the regular and the chocolate cheesecake. Really good texture, as well. Not overwhelmingly rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I had heard horror stories from first time cheesecake bakers and was hesitant to try one, but this recipe was easy to follow and the cheesecake was delicious! I have now used this recipe twice with excellent results and only a small crack on the edge that nearly disappears when cooled. Even extended family continues to rave about it weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
First cheesecake I've ever made so it wasn't real pretty, but tastes AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
One of the smoother cheesecakes I made probably due to the condensed milk. I brought it over my in laws and everyone loved how it looked, even with the crack in the middle. I added some flour but perhaps I'll try it with cornstarch to prevent the crack. It wasn't too sweet which was good, I like the texture alot vs the other ny style cheesecake, this is not dense at all. You won't be disappointed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this recipe a week ago and plan to repeat it tonight for Thanksgiving. I omitted the chocolate (I wanted a pure cheesecake). I used my KA stand mixer and it worked out the lumps beautifully. I had also brought the cream cheese to room temperature before mixing to aid the process. I also used roughly a quarter more graham crackers and walnuts for the crust and brought it half way up the sides (we love crust). I placed another pan with water in the oven for steam and baked for the minimum amount of time. My cheesecake doubled in size and did crack quite a lot. The top was browned (just a little too much on the edges) and sorta dried out the first little layer of cake. After the refrigeration period, you couldn't tell there were any cracks. I give it 5 stars because I know if I bake it for 5 minutes less, it'll be perfect. Tonight, I plan on adding a small amount of orange zest to the mixture, drizzling chocolate around the outside edges, and creating a centerpiece of partially covered chocolate orange slices. Yumm. Also, this recipe is for CHEESEcake lovers. It's very cheesy and not very sweet. It's also very dense, not light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberrygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States