Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have done this cake twice. First time following the instructions to the letter and the result was OK, not great. The second time around I reduced flour quantity by half a cup and baked it for a little over 50 min and it was just fantastic. I was so proud of myself for baking such a delicious cake. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great! but If I hadnt made these changes I think it might have turned out dry: 1. use 3 cups flour (I used normal all purpose flour) 2. Mix differently: First cream butter and sugar together. Beat in eggs one at a time, add vanilla. Then add the premixed dry ingredients SIFTED to the batter alternating with the milk (1/3 flour mixture - 1/3 milk ending with milk) When you put in the cocoa to the 2 1/2 cups of batter SIFT THE COCOA I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt. Also, I used the whisk advise to creat a marbled effect. I put 3/4 of the chocolate batter, then all the white batter and then spooned in the rest of the chocolate batter and spreaded with a knife, then stuck in the whisk all around the cake. Perfect! Glazed with easy chocolate bundt cake glaze from this site NOTE: this is a dense but moist cake making these adjustments. You WILL need a glass of milk! I am giving this 5 stars ONLY BECAUSE I THINK THAT WITH THESE CHANGES ITS WORTH A TRY, AND TO ENCOURAGE OTHERS TO TRY IT! if I were to rate this recipe as is i wouldnt be able to because I didnt follow directions because in my book ingredients arent mixed that way and im not going to risk my ingredients Update: ok, so a day has past and this cake is definetly a 5. it is still moist. its covered only with plastic wrap. forgot to say i glazed this with a glaze found on this site: 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 1 (14 ounce) sweetened condensed milk. heat on medium heat stirring constantly until chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
The look was fantasctic, but the taste was not to die for, next time, I would cut down the amount of flour to 2 3/4 cups only, because the flour ratio is big comparing to the to the other ingredients ratio. Just cut down the flour, and you can’t go wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
Used regular flour less 2 Tbsp per cup. Easy to use recipe. Nice texture and flavor, not at all dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very nice pound cake with just the right amount of sweetness. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x5 inch glass baking dish. I creamed the butter and sugar together, then added the eggs and vanilla (2 tsp.). I cut the cake flour down to 1 and 1/2 cups and mixed the dry ingredients together then added that to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk, starting and ending with the flour. I then removend part of the batter and added the cocoa and twisted the layers to obtain the marlbed effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I followed the advice of other reviewers and decreased the amount of flour. I also reduced the bake time from a full hour to just 50 minutes. I was glad to have the tips ahead of time because they seemed to be just the ticket to a moist cake. My only complaints are that I have quite a sweet tooth and I would have liked the cake to be just a little more sugary. (I was looking to recreate something akin to Starbucks' marble loaf.) The other thing was the order of the ingredients being added was a little odd to me. The flour was the third ingredient and it made the batter like a thick cookie dough until I got the milk added. I may change the order in which I add them the next time I make it. Overall, it was good and I'll try it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Really really good, everyone LOVED it. Following others suggestions, I just did 3 1/4 cups of flour, (and we're high altitude, 7800 ft) and then added a TBSP of milk to the choclate mixture when I added the cocoa, baked for 50 minutes exactly and it came out wonderfully moist and deliccious. We sliced it and had it with strawberries, chocolate sauce, and whipped cream~ it was lovely. The kids delared this "version" of strawberry shortcake THE BOMB. It was a great mix of not too chocolately or sweet, but satified all those together. Mmmmm Thank you for this great recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
Loved this cake! It's exactly what I've been looking for. Since others had posted that they thought it was a bit dry, I cooked it 5 minutes less than the recipe said and made sure my oven was just slightly on the under side of the temp. listed. It was not dry and didn't last long at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredibly easy, beautiful, moist, and tasty! I baked this in a 9x13 for 35 minutes. Would have been great with chocolate buttercream frosting, but frosting is so not necessary. Will DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I melted 2 squaes of unsweetened chocolate, ground 2 squares of semisweet chocolate squares, instead of the cocoa powder. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States